Friday Fragments

Friday Fragments

If you all haven’t jumped on the Friday Fragments bandwagon, I urge you to give it a whirl.  For more information and for other Friday Fragments participants, head on over to see Mrs.4444 and she’ll give you the lowdown.

***I talked to my mom a couple of days ago to apprise her of CF’s plea change, but she had already heard about it from my sister.  My sister also told her about Steve moving in, and she addressed that by saying, very scathingly, “So I hear you have a new roommate.”  It is funny, the ONE person she ever really pushed me to marry was this man called Bill;  he beat the shit out of me, raped me (yes, folks, a woman in a relationship CAN be raped), left me on the side of the road out in the middle of nowhere one time, and even after all that, my mom said, “You two really need to just grow up and get married.”  Um, yeah. 

***I recently discovered that it is not, in fact, the squirrel population eating all of our peanuts; it is the neighborhood kids. 

***Eli and Sam are leaving in the morning to spend two weeks with my dad.  My sister’s boy is also going, though he won’t be there until Monday afternoon.  This is the one who is the boys’ biological brother but is really their cousin, so it is going to be really interesting and, I think, neat to see what kind of a relationship they are all going to form.  The temptation is so great to dictate to them how they SHOULD feel, but we are all resisting that temptation and letting the three of them establish whatever connection it is they choose. 

***Hannah is leaving to go camping this weekend, which will give me a small taste of what it used to be like with only one child.  I am looking forward to the small break (Hannah will be back on Sunday) with just Owen there, but I suspect that he is going to be a handful with no one there to play with.

***If you break down your life into days instead of years, it sure seems like a lot less time.  I have lived just over 13,500 days-which seems like a lot less time than just over 37 years.  So if I live another 37 years, well, I don’t have that many days left.  Makes you stop and think, doesn’t it?

***Owen’s new favorite phrase is, “Oh, crap.”  Only he says, “Oh, pap.”  It’s a good think he picked up something the kids say as opposed to something I say, right?

On that note, Happy Friday to all of you!  Don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you get a chance, and then go see Mrs. 4444 to become a Fragmenter.

28 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. i’m dlow how do i enter your giveaway? if i win you can just pass it to the next person i just want satisfaction of know i won something:)

  2. Sure wish you had a real mom. DO you? (I suspect that you do, thank God.) Enjoy your weekend; I hope Owen just loves on you and lets you have whatever space you need 🙂

    You’re so cool, you know that?
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

  3. You are so right that the number of days just doesn’t seem like much, does it?

    I am getting a little taste today of what it was like to have NO kids…well except the one inside of my but, you get what I’m sayin…L is at Gma and Gpas today and the only plans I have are a massage this afternoon…It really is nice to have time like this once in awhile…

    I hope that Owen is a perfect angel today and tomorrow :0) Enjoy your weekend!

    (((hugs)))
    .-= Justme´s last blog ..Happy Anniversary to W and I… =-.

  4. I’ve definitely had one of those relationships before. Being thrown out on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere, yup, vivid memories there.
    (((Hugs)))

Leave a Reply

