Home Again

I think I need a vacation so I can recover from my vacation; anyone else ever feel that way?  I don’t know which is more daunting-the idea of going to work today, where there will be three days worth of work waiting for me PLUS the other agent is on vacation-or being home where all of the detritus of five days of camping is still waiting to be unloaded.  I did four loads of laundry when we got home last night, and the water in the machine looked like mud-we got a little bit dirty.

Still, for the most part it was was worth it.  Even though we left early on Wednesday (relatively; when Steve’s family says “We are leaving at 9:00” it really means closer to noon-and we left at 11:00), for a variety of reasons we didn’t actually get up to the cabin until almost 6:00.  There were a couple of stops to make, and then we got lost (which could really be a post itself),  so basically the whole first day was wasted with traveling and unloading and getting everything set up.  They had rented a cabin this year, and it was beautiful-but we still slept in tents, Steve and the kids and I.  And when I say kids, I mean all the kids except for the babies.  We set up our BIG tent for all of them, and we had the little one, and it gave us all a little bit of a break from one another to have our own space to go to.  Because there was a LOT of tension this year amongst the adults, and even though I am only peripherally involved, it is hard not to get sucked in when you are all together like that.

And here is where I complain a little bit.  Steve has a sister-in-law who is, how shall I put it diplomatically…a real bitch.  I don’t like her at all; I never have, though she has been tolerable because I don’t see her all that often.  This time, well, I like her even less after this trip.  She is a stay-at-home mom, they have two kids, yet her husband (Steve’s brother) does ALL the work.  I have heard the scuttlebutt about that from other family members,  but this was the first time I have seen it in action, and I was disgusted.  SA, her husband, did everything with the boys, from changing diapers to disciplining to getting their plates, and ALSO served HER.  She sat there and ordered him around, and God forbid if he did something wrong.  Their older son, who is not quite five, has some problems, and from what I have seen, they are both just making it worse-because they ignore him.  They take the baby everywhere (he is about 18 months old, maybe a little older), they love on him and treat him like a king, and the older one is just left out.  I tried to put myself in her shoes and be understanding, I tried to be generous, I tried to figure out what I saw in her that reminds me of myself that might cause negative feelings, but then I just decided I was wasting too much energy and that just maybe it is okay to simply not like her.  So I cheerfully let go of the need to figure it out and went on ahead with disliking her intensely, and I sure felt a lot better.

Family drama aside, it was really great.  Steve and I got to be the “fun” aunt and uncle, packing the back of the blazer full of kids and going swimming or boating, and we went on a lot of four wheeler rides.  One morning Steve and Owen and I sat on the back of the four wheeler and watched a moose meander through the marsh, stopping every now and again to nibble at a particularly succulent willow.  We watched him for a good half hour (and I got some great pictures I will post tomorrow), and even later everyone else went to see him and he was still there.  We also saw the obligatory deer, and a bald eagle, and coming home from dropping Eli off to get on the bus to take him to the airport (he had to leave on Saturday to go visit his dad) I saw a wolf, trotting alongside the road carrying a limp, dead animal of some sort in his mouth.  Despite the encroachment of us humans, it is still very much a wilderness area.

For Steve and I on a personal level, it was very much-well.  Nice is too weak a word, really.  As active as we were with the family, we still managed to spend time alone, and that was much needed.  And I don’t talk about it much because it IS very personal, but I will say that we haven’t had that much sex in a really, really long time.  I don’t know; we spent all this time with everyone else, but all the while there was this very elemental connection between us, and that was both unexpected and lovely.  It isn’t as if things are bad at home at all in that arena, but life gets in the way and with all of the changes we have been experiencing, that part of the relationship hasn’t been a top priority at all.  It felt really great to be able to reconnect with him on that level, and actually to be more intimate than ever.  Blush blush….

So.  We are home now, and there are more things to write, pictures to post, funny stories and happenings, but I also have a pile of work waiting for me, and the other person in the office is now on vacation for the next two weeks-which means double the work.  I will say, though, that it is good to be home, and that I am glad we got to go.

15 thoughts on “Home Again

  1. So glad you had such a wonderful time Kori!!

    I must say that I think Steve’s SIL sounds an aweful lot like my very own SIL. But I still try with mine.

    Sweet on the sexual reconnection. W and I have troubles with that when I am pregnant, and let me just say that I am soSoSO looking forward to some reconnection for us after baby comes – although I am not going to fool myself that it will come REAL soon – sleep deprivation from getting up with baby will likely prolong ours for a little while yet.
    .-= Justme´s last blog ..Oh he is SO our child…and the next battle. =-.

  2. I often feel like that after a vacation, tired, exhausted and needing another break! I’m so glad you had a great time, and I’m glad you got to reconnect with Steve, sounds juicy!

    I can’t wait to see the pictures from the trip.

    BTW, detritus is one of my favorite words and was so excited to see it used the way you did. I can just see (and smell) all the camping gear and clothes.
    .-= Erin´s last blog ..Hello, Goodbye =-.

  3. I am so happy that you had a good time. And I think that whole thing about it being a reflection on you if you don’t like someone is baloney. It has elements of truth in some cases. But mostly, Freud was a perverted idiot with nothing of use to offer mankind. And if you apply his beliefs to him, well, it doesn’t look too good on his resume as a human being. JMO.

    Yeah, I think I hate that woman too. She sounds like a real cunt.

    Hope all goes well at work. 🙂
    .-= FreedomFirst´s last blog ..Unbelievable =-.

  4. Missed you Hon…!!!

    So delighted you had such a happy time with the kiddos and found time & space to reconnect with Steve, it sounds like a very special time.

    I know people like your SIL…ugh…!!! They fawn all over their youngest child and the older one craves attention, he is such a sweetheart too. When we see him we always make a huge fuss of him and pretty much ignore the younger one, he’s only two and won’t notice for another year or so that we don’t jump like everyone else does. The parents can’t understand…on one occasion I was reading the older one a story and his mother lifted him off my knee and dropped the baby in his place. I was gobsmacked. It’s so sad for the child who is ignored.

    Hope you are on top of the laundry, it is just the worst job when you have been away, isn’t it..?? Wherever possible I stay at an apartment with laundry facilities so I can stay on top of it.

    Take care Hon and I hope that blissful rediscovered connection with Steve continues…xox
    .-= Kerrie´s last blog ..Play Me, I’m Yours… =-.

  5. Glad to hear you had such a nice vacation!

    I hear ya on the vacation after vacation idea! We got back from our family reunion this past Tuesday night… and I’m still catching up on the laundry and trying to put things away!

    Ewww… yeah – I experienced one of those women at our reunion as well. Spent the entire time bossing her husband around as though she were queen – not even trying to be nice about it and then got angry with him and couldn’t figure out why he was being such a jerk when he took off during a fight. Hmm… Some people will just never make any sense to me.

  6. Really glad to hear you all had a mostly great time. You (of course) deserved it.
    And about needing a vacation to catch up on what you fell behind on while you were on vacation… I totally get that. The van is still full of crap from our trip and the house is a diz ass ter. Aye aye aye
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..A good day =-.

  7. Oh wow on your SIL! Glad you and Steve were able to reconnect. Getting away from the stress of life really does do wonders. I know what you mean on a vaacation to deal with having a vacation.

Leave a Reply

