Friday Fragments-Photo Edition

Friday

Welcome to Friday Fragments, brought to you by the ever-charming Mrs.4444 or, as she has informed us all, Mrs.Fours.  Head on over there and link up; you never know who you might meet! 

 airport dude

***The man above is someone we saw at the airport; you can’t really see what he is doing in the picture (because I was being all sly when taking it), but he is opening and eating a very large cottage cheese container filled with something that looked like spinach-artichoke dip.  He was pulled out of the security line and told he couldn’t take it through, at which point he stomped over to the garbage can, slammed his bag onto the ground, and started eating it as fast as he could.  I tried to understand his frustration, even though the signs throughout the entire airport are pretty fair warning that he wouldn’t be able to take it through security; however, my understanding was somewhat overshadowed by the hilarity of watching him bury his face into this container and come up with bulging mouthfuls of his lovely concoction.  After he finished eating what he could and went back through security (still chewing), he left the container on top of the garbage can; I went over to look at it to see if I might want some-he was clearly enjoying it-but alas, it looked like, well, shit.

Boy and Dog

***This is how we roll at our house.  Tired but just can’t quite muster up the engery to actually go find a pillow?  Use the dog.  This is Owen after a long hard morning playing outside.  They were born within three days of each other so have literally grown up together; it is hard deciding which of them is more adorable some days.

Boys in airport

***The above and below pictures both just make me happy; no matter how much they fight and pester one another, Sam and Owen are very, very close; Owen cried when Sam got on the plane…until he said, “Ooh!  Toys!” and ran off to play in the little airplane.

random 063

 

***Blogging has, for a thousand reasons, been wonderful for me.  Just recently, I have been reminded forcibly that the writers on the other end are actual real live people with, you know, feelings, and sometimes I forget that when I feel pretty strongly about something when I am commenting.  It is good for me to have a few pre-conceived notions smashed to bits; I tend to see a lot of things in black and white, and noticing the shades of grey is forcing me to bend and grow and change.  It better; I am tired of having to pull my foot out of my mouth regularly. 

***Our fridge has slowly been dying until a few days ago, it just heaved a big old sigh and went on to appliance heaven.  So, we had to buy a new fridge, and I almost had a heart attack; it is just a plain-Jane white fridge, nothing fancy, just, you know, a fridge-and it cost as much as my TIRES did (looked online at several different places, though, to compare prices, and we are actually getting a good deal).  We did the 90 days same as cash deal (which will actually be paid off in a month) and I seriously started hyperventilating and had to leave the store.  I don’t know; I didn’t panic when we had a KID, nor when we bought the car together three years ago, but for some reason, the fridge was like a commitment. 

All right then; you have finished with me…what are you waiting for?  Mrs.Fours has a lot more links to other posts up at her place.

42 thoughts on “Friday Fragments-Photo Edition

  1. I LOVE the pictures of the boys!

    FYI – for the last 2 weeks the Friday Fragments logo has not appeared correctly at the top of the post. All I can see is the code…

    When are you going to do your blog roll? As I see it, it’s blank. I need to know who you’re reading! 🙂

  2. Dog photo? Awwwwww.

    Foot in mouth? Been there…about a thousand times. Luckily I’ve been fortunate enough to have the people on the other end of whatever caused my foot to go in my mouth in the first place to be totally cool about it and not care. I am certain that’s true in your case as well! 🙂
    .-= Matt´s last blog ..Break Out The Plastic, It’s Time To Shop! =-.

  3. I like me some spinach dip, but that’s a little ridiculous.

    A little catch up here….I understand your frustrations about Hannah and her needs pretty well. Although Thing 1’s issues aren’t anywhere near hers, just some LD issues, getting help for him is pert near impossible because he’s “managing”. I love how they define that.

    Anyway, big hugs and all. It will work out. I just know it.
    .-= melissaz´s last blog ..Fri Frag 8/7/09 =-.

  4. I love that picture of Owen and the dog. We had a German shepherd we used to sleep on and who slept on us. Dogs are wonderful. 🙂

    People watching at the airport is one of my favorite things to do. You never know what you might see!
    .-= Julia´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

    • @Julia, I have to laugh; I am VERY liberal, and as an extension my kids are, too. But they had never seen a lesbian couple OR a cross-dresser, and we got to see both at the airport, too. A whole new world in just one building.

  5. Maybe that wasn’t spinach!
    The pics are absolutely precious. (Well, not the one with the “cottage cheese habit,” but the others.)
    Someone did remind the other day, though, that a fridge is one of the best investments we can make, considering how long they last and how much use we get out of them.
    .-= April´s last blog ..Linky Love =-.

  6. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    I love the photo of your two boys and of your son and the dog. That is absolutely a winner. 🙂

    BTW, I am also an insurance agent. I work in a small agency in small town Maine specializing in Commercial Insurance.
    .-= Jonel´s last blog .. =-.

  7. The pictures of the boys are great!

    There have been a couple of times that I’ve left comments on blogs and my tone has come across as abrasive. I end up feeling like a jerk because I wasn’t trying to be mean to the author I was just stating my opinion rather passionately. Live and learn
    .-= Unknown Mami´s last blog ..Fragmented Fridays =-.

  8. That story about the guy scarfing down the container of shit is REALLY funny. Maybe it was magic shit. Or contraband shit. Funny.

    And the pict of A Dog and His Boy is beautiful.
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..forgiveness =-.

  9. What remote cave has he been hiding in that he doesn’t realize you can’t take anything like that (whatever “that” is) through security?

    Owen is a cutie. He’s going to love that photo when he gets older.
    .-= Dingo´s last blog ..Dingo’s Gambit =-.

  10. That photo of your son and dog is sooo awesome!! Kinda priceless honestly 🙂 And to watch a guy scarf down something that nasty so fast would have given me the giggles for a very long time, LoL. Ahh the wonderful things that happen in an airport…
    Thank you for the tip on linking, I’ll do that next time and hopefully get a wee bit smarter with this stuff, LoL. And thank you for stopping by and the friendly comment (I’m still wishing for my pedicure but baby is scheduled to come out Monday morning so all hope is lost)
    Have a fabulous day/weekend!! I’ll stop by again 🙂
    .-= Beckie´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

Leave a Reply

