Back Into the Swing of Things-Without the Right Kind of coffee

So begins another school year; I hope this morning is not indicative of how the entire year is going to be!  We none of us slept very well for a variety of reasons, everyone was up too early and tempers were short.  Nerves are the culprit for everyone, I think; it’s a new year full of new possibilities for all of them, but there is no doubt that there is fear and uncertainty involved with anything new.  I have high hopes for all three of the older kids this year, and more importantly, they seem to have high hopes as well.  For this moment, though, I will simply be grateful if none of the three end up in tears at any time this first day; that will mean it was a successful first day.

As for me, well.  Life goes on.  I am interviewing for a second job later this week, so we’ll see how that goes.  I slept on the couch last night, which in part is why I am starting this week off less rested that usual; Steve and I have some pretty big things to work through, and while I think this is normal relationship stuff, that doesn’t make it any easier.  I am also taking my dog in to be put down, my hopes of being able to give her a peaceful death in the comfort of home no longer practical or, honestly, fair to her. We went to Costco yesterday and found out they are no longer carrying my kind of coffee (Columbian, in case anyone is interested), so I had to choose from New Guinea coffee and Guatemalan coffee.  I picked the Guatemalan as it is closer to Columbia plus is grown and roasted by small farmers, but really, I liked my Columbian coffee just fine.  A minor thing, sure, but still, I love my coffee.

At this point, I know nothing and am trying to accept not knowing.  I got up this morning, which is no small thing, and I imagine I will keep just getting up in the morning and doing what is in front of me.  That is all I know how to do at this point, really, and I have to believe that it will be enough, and that I will soon know the direction in which I need to turn.

So.  I am around again, for whatever that is worth.  Life does go on, right?

15 thoughts on “Back Into the Swing of Things-Without the Right Kind of coffee

  1. Yeah, Kori’s back. I’ve been stalking you on this really slow day at work and was glad to see a new post FINALLY up.

    Yes, life does go on. But I have to say, coffee is an important part of that “going on”!!

    I’m so sorry to hear it’s time to say good-bye to your dog. There is nothing easy about that. And by taking her in to be put down, you ARE giving her a dignified ending — don’t let it eat at you too much. I hope it is as peaceful as possible. And then, let the tears flow b/c that’s normal.

    I think just about every family has tears on the first day of school — parents included — sometimes happy and sometimes sad.

    Glad to see you’re back.
    .-= Jill´s last blog ..Another post about death =-.

  2. Oh sweetie. You can’t catch a break. And when those times are upon us, you’re right- all you can do is get up and deal with it all.
    But dammit, coffee! You have to have the coffee you love. That one small thing can make so much difference. And you- you deserve it. And so much more.
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..Can’t Complain =-.

  3. Julie or anyone can steal my line 🙂 You deserve to have all kinds of love!

    OK, I’m pissed that YOU’RE the one who slept on the couch. There, I said it.

    I neglected to mention in my email how sorry I am about your dog.

    And, as always, I love you.
    .-= April´s last blog ..Weekend Wrap-Up =-.

    • @April, Thanks, April! 🙂

      Kori,
      I am also pissed that you slept on the couch.

      And I too am sorry that I didn’t say anything about your dog. I know how hard it is to lose a furry family member. 😦
      .-= Julie´s last blog ..Too busy =-.

  4. AAAAALLLRIGHT! I simply cannot stand by and do NOTHING while you are forced to get on without the proper coffee! NOBODY, (outside of prison), should have to drink the “wrong” coffee! Have you tried looking on line for the Costco Colombian coffee? I know Sam’s Club has some of the things that they used to offer in the stores still on line and you can order it. They just mail it to you.
    Try that and if it doesn’t work, let me know who to kill. 😉
    .-= Krissa´s last blog ..Neurosis=normal. =-.

  5. I’d be rights bitchy without my Columbian brew for sure – it’s the only coffee I drink!

    Not knowing anything is the way to go sometimes. One foot in front of the other; autopilot – just embrace it for now – it can be comforting for awhile. Routine with the kids is also really good.

    I’m happy to see you writing your blog though – it’s a creative release you need and will continue to need as well as a support system that will be your cheerleaders as you get to a place where you can switch the autopilot off eventually.

    It’s late…I hope this made some kind of sense 🙂

Leave a Reply

