Friday Fragments

Friday

 

 

Join in the Friday fun by popping over to Mrs.4444’s place and taking part in Friday Fragments.  You won’t regret it.

***Owen kept clearing his throat all morning yesterday; when asked if he had something stuck in his throat, he said, “Hm, maybe a grasshopper.”

***Parent-Teacher conferences for Hannah were on Wednesday; she has two B’s, one a high B and the other a mid-B.  This is the first time in ages that she has gotten such good grades, and both teachers said that she is capable of getting A’s if she applied herself a little harder.  That will be addressed, but for the moment we are all focusing on how good she is doing, and she is.  I think she is proud, too, because for the first time she is feeling capable of succeeding in school; how much a blessing is that?

***I got pulled over again  this morning, this time not for speeding but for stopping in front of the school to drop Hannah off.  It is NOT marked in any way to indicate that stopping and unloading is prohibited, I was one of five cars stopped there dropping students off, yet I was the one pulled over.  Apparently word of my breasts is spreading.

***Steve had a basket of cookies delivered to me at work yesterday, which was very sweet.  However, I made the mistake of taking the basket home last night…any guesses as to how many of them are left?

***Anyone who is concerned about where our country is headed should really watch the movie V for Vendetta.  The setting is vastly different, but the message is the same: if we as a nation want anything to change, then we as individuals are going to have to get up off our asses and be part of that change.  I wouldn’t recommend resorting to some of the tactics used in the movie, however.

***If I have to hear the theme song to “Maisy” one more time, I might cry.  Cute show.  Owen has a couple of them on DVD.  The song is one that sticks in my head, playing an endless loop.  Makes me want to kill the dastardly little mouse.

***If you were taking a vacation without children, where would you go? 

***Eli and two of his friends are going to a Teen Dance tomorrow.  They have to wear ties.  Which means they will wear jeans/t-shirts with ties.

***A friend of mine is going on a date tonight, and I just say a big thank you jebus! that  I am not on the dating scene anymore.  I sucked at it, I really did.  That said, I hope she has a really, really great time.

For more Fragments, there is a whole list of great participants over at Half Past Kissin’ Time.  It would behoove you to go check some of them out.

30 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. I’d rather eat dirt than have to date. Been with John since I was 16. Thank God.

    Vacation just the two of us? Probably Vegas again. We have never had so much fun people watching!!

    Hallie

    • @Ms. Moon, Closer to home (I thought about Cozumel, too), somewhere we can get to without a passport.

      The grasshopper thing killed me because for some reason, the grasshoppers are huge this year; like praying mantis huge. Gag.

  2. Basket of cookies!? How sweet. So much better than flowers. haha

    Since Scott and I have no children, we go on vacation anywhere and everywhere. It’s part of the perks of not having kids, actually. LOL.

    I thank GOD I am taken and have found my soulmate everyday. I was a serial dater before I met Scott, and I was sure Mr. Right was a myth. I dumped many men. LOL. I do not envy your friend at all.

    Happy FF!

  3. Hooray for Hanna!

    No passport vacation without kids… for me vacations come down to beach or mountains. Maybe San Diego if you’re feeling beachy? I don’t know much on the West Coast.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..9/11 =-.

  4. I certainly hope Owen doesn’t have a grasshopper in his throat!

    WAY TO GO HANNAH! That is awesome. I’m sure you are so proud of her!

    I definitely do not miss the dating scene. At. All. Do I miss going on dates with Mr. Ski? Sure. But married life tends to get so boring, haha!

    Ah, school dances. That brings back memories.

    I was sent a basket of cookies by my bff once after a certification exam…they were delicious! I would much prefer cookies to flowers! And I would be willing to bet that you didn’t have any cookies left after bringing them home. Note to self: next time I get cookies at work…leave them there!

    Thanks for the comment on my blog. Mitch Hedberg, the comedian I quote, is by far my favorite comedian. He had amazing stage presence and the funniest part of his comedy was how he presented it. Unfortunately he passed away in 2005 so now I listen to his cd’s and when I really need a fix I’ll watch him on YouTube.
    .-= Mrs. Ski´s last blog .. =-.

  5. Thanks! 🙂

    Owen is too funny! I love it when little kids say crazy, unexpected things.

    So you got pulled over… did you get a ticket? take photos of the site where you were cited (haha) and contest the ticket!

    My grandma used to send me shoe boxes full of cookies when I was in college. I asked her not to because I was gaining weight. Now I never get ANY cookies from her. I should have continued receiving them and just shared with friends and co-workers!

    Thank God I don’t have children right now, so I don’t have to watch Maisy or take them on vacation. I agree with the California suggestion… Come visit me! 🙂 You can stay with me, too! Except that doesn’t exactly allow for sexy time with Steve. LOL.
    .-= Julie´s last blog ..Not a housewife =-.

    • @Julie, The only problem-ONLY problem-with going to California is that I already nixed going to Arizona because I didn’t want to feel obligated to spend time with Steve’s friends down there. So I might feel a little selfish if I said, “But hey, let’s go here so Ican finally meet April and Julie!” You should start saving too and the three of us can hook up in Vegas in the spring. 🙂

      And good luck. 🙂

  6. Hallie’s line was hilarious, eat dirt :). It’s been forever since my dating years( over half a lifetime ago), and I look like it too :).

    I know, the dating thing would be so stressful, I have a girlfriend who’s been back on the scene for over 5 years and she’s met more jerks than not. But she remains hopeful. Glad for you friend though, hope she has an awesome time.

    That was sweet of Steve to send you cookies; I love a sentimental guy.
    .-= Karen MEG´s last blog ..Friday Fragments – Back to Life, Back to Reality =-.

  7. Congrats to Hannah on her great grades! Good for her!

    As for a vacation sans kids? I’d go back to Disney World where hubs and I went on our honeymoon and ride the rides I wanted to. Or cruise, a cruise would be really cool.
    .-= Tara R.´s last blog ..RSS Links Widget =-.

  8. That’s awesome about Hannah. I know the worry you’ve had for her and how your heart must swell over her success.

    How ’bout Disney? JUST KIDDING!!!! I would go to either the southwest or northern california. In a convertible. Mr. Moon has one. Maybe he’ll let you borrow it
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..Friday Fragments & Freewrites =-.

  9. Oh man the whole dating thing scares me as well. That’s great that Hannah’s doing well. It will be a big boost for her. Sounds like some great ideas for potential alone vacation spots.

    I remember one summer when the grasshoppers were everywhere. They weren’t huge-it was just a little startling when you’d walk and then something starts jumping right as you open the door to your car.

  10. I’m still chuckling over the grasshopper comment… I think I’ll see how the Princess Nagger reacts when I say I have a grasshopper in my throat instead of a frog…she’ll either correct me, or start calling it a grasshopper, too! 😉

    WooHoo! on Hannah’s grades!

    Kid-Free Vacation? Probably Reno or Vegas… 🙂

    Happy FF! 🙂
    .-= Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)´s last blog ..Friday Fragment Freewrite Fitness VGNO… Wine and Naggers =-.

  11. A grasshopper?… Haha – that is too cute!!

    A vacation without kids?… I’d go to a quiet little bed and breakfast somewhere – maybe in Vermont or New Hampshire – somewhere that I could sleep in and not feel as though I were missing anything. Especially in the next couple months – I bet Vermont is especially gorgeous in Autumn!
    .-= Tranquility´s last blog ..Bits and Pieces =-.

  12. HOORAY for Hannah! I’m so happy for her. Maybe this will give her some empowerment.

    Throat clearing can be allergy related; it’s that time of year for some folks, unfortunately…

    Curious about the boob comment and look forward to catching up–I suspect you mentioned it earlier in the week…

    Great. Now I want cookies!
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Out of the Mouths of Babes… =-.

  13. Wow. I really like this post. There’s cuteness and happiness all over the place. In just little teeny-tiny snippets, you show the personalities and lives of the people in your life. Love. It.

    Grasshopper in the throat – cute.

    Yeah for Hannah. YEAH, YEAH, YEAH. I’m sitting at my desk grinning.

    I love cookies.

    Vacation – Fishing in northern MN or Canada…. Get a nice cozy cabin at a lodge.

    There’s my comments in fragment style!
    .-= Jill´s last blog ..Another post about death =-.

Leave a Reply

