Soapbox #753

This post definitely needs to go under the heading of “Are you fucking kidding me?” because I just learned that in some states (Idaho being one of them), insurance companies can deny you coverageif you are a victim of domestic violence because it is a pre-existing condition.  I read this article and I thought I was going to have an apoplexy right here at my desk. 

In my mind, perhaps predictably, this is tied up with the ongoing situation with Hannah, and it makes me even more angry.  My daughter was the victim of a crime, but I was billed for the required interview with the police to decide whether or not charges would be filed.  CF was ordered to undergo a psycho-sexual evaluation which is paid for through the State.  Hannah was denied continued counseling because she “used up” her allowed hours for mental health services, but CF will be given five years of strictly supervised probation in addition to whatever treatment is deemed appropriate by the court-at the expense of the state, minus his $50/month Cost of Supervision fee.  Hannah very well may need therapy as she matures and faces different things in her life, but the way things are going she very well may be denied the help she needs simply because she was the victim of a crime.  CF will never be denied any kind of coverage because 1. he is part of a group health plan paid for by his employer, 2. he is a veteran, 3. he will soon qualify for Medicare and 4. he might possibly be a good candidate for rehabilitation and therefore will be given as many opportunities as he will take (though between you and I, I don’t believe that fucking child molesters CAN be rehabilitated).

I have seen this with Hannah, that she regrets having reported the crime at all, regrets us having filed a police report.  I hope that in time she will think differently, but God knows I can’t and don’t blame her for feeling that way.  So far, the only thing she has learned was a lesson that I don’t think the justice system intended: Don’t Report a Sexual Crime.  Now, with this stuff coming to light (and how many people knew of this?  Really?  Because I consider myself fairly knowledgeable about varying health care issues and I had no idea that this was EVEN a possibility!), I think that more and more women who are being abused will simply stop telling anyone.  Not only is the victimized by her abuser, she is also victimized by the justice system; now she has to worry that if she reports the incident of domestic violence to the police, it will mean that she may be denied coverage for any injuries sustained as the result of said violence.  Again, are you fucking kidding me?

Also, and I believe this to be true anywhere, it is still such a struggle to bring Domestic Violence into the light and hold abusers accountable that this kind of shit simply gives abusers the faulty idea that this is still very much okay.  In the twisted thinking of abusers,  the repeated injustice toward the VICTIM simply reaffirms that what *they* are doing/have done isn’t all that bad.  From an ankle monitor to a slap on the wrist, abusers can and do get away with being violent every single day, while the victims truly don’t have any recourse.  Now, not only is there little to no legal recourse, in some states these women can’t even have fixed the cheekbone he broke, much less the mental anguish caused by abusers.

I am still so mad that I am shaking.  I live in one of these states, folks.  I also recently joined the ranks of the insured through and employer-provided health care plan.  This means that if I became a victim of domestic violence, I would have to choose between filing a police report or going to the doctor; why should anyone have to make that kind of a choice?  Why couldn’t the insurance company just go on ahead and pay the claims, then go after the son-of-a-bitch who caused the damages in the first place?  God.  What a nightmare. 

There you are, soapbox #753.  I got more, believe me, but for now, I need to rough-draft a couple of letters to our lovely Idaho Representatives, and I clearly need to calm down before I do it.  For some reason, I don’t think they would appreciate being asked,”What the fuck are you thinking, you dumbass?”

41 thoughts on “Soapbox #753

  1. Makes me sick. WHAT.THE.FUCK?!?!?!?!?!?!?! That is the most absurd, fucked up thing ever.

    Write a letter to the President too. Maybe he’ll call the lawmakers jackasses.

    • @kori, No, I haven’t read it yet. Too busy at work. I’ll read it tonight. Not sure if I want to though… It’s just going to make me raging angry. But I will because I need to know what’s up, and pick a fight about it!

  2. Wow… that’s completely insane. I still think it all boils down to $$$
    Any excuse to deem something a pre-existing condition, even if it’s totally absurd and lacking justice.
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..au natural =-.

  3. The injustice and downright what-the-fuckery is not surprising but it is disheartening for all the reasons you mentioned. This is typical coming from an industry (insurance) that does not value women’s bodies or decisions. Remember how difficult it was to get reconstructive surgery covered? How about birth control? Women use insurance more but we’re the least protected. A serious overhaul of the insurance industry is needed but their policies are, sadly, a reflection of the little value our society places on women’s bodies.
    .-= Dingo´s last blog ..Fine Feathered Fiends =-.

    • @Dingo, And the thing is, they already charge higher monthly premiums for women than men, basing those rates on the statistical probability of claims being made. The laws state (now) that pregnancy can no longer be considered a pre-existing condition (very helpful for those who, until becoming pregnant, don’t have insurance), but that is also why there is a SEPARATE, and higher, deductible for maternity care. What-the-fuckery-indeed. Oh, yes, and deny us birth control/family planning services so hey presto, more money if we get pregnant!

  4. I really, really fucking hate things like this but I am still glad you posted it because people need to KNOW. I didn’t know that, and I’m glad I do now so I can be aware.

    Poor Hannah–I’m a new reader, so I’m entirely sure of the background story, but I really hate hearing that anything happened to your girl. It sounds like you’re taking the best care of her though and in the long run, she’ll be glad she reported it –or else she’ll always wonder what would have happened if she did.
    .-= SJ´s last blog ..The Pieces =-.

  5. Good god–and someday I’m going to learn how to type and not comment 3 times making corrections. I meant to say I’m NOT entirely sure of the background story…I promise that’s the last comment… =)
    .-= SJ´s last blog ..The Pieces =-.

      • Hey Kori, I would be honored if you shared the background story with me–yes, please email it if you feel comfortable doing that. I know it’s something you reference alot, so it’s clearly something that’s been impacting you for awhile…if you want to pass along, it’s Steph81@hotmail.com.
        .-= SJ´s last blog ..The Pieces =-.

  6. Being the victim of a violent sexual crime is a pre-existing MEDICAL condition? Are you fucking kidding me? That is insane and so wrong on so many levels. I need to find out if this outrage is in place in Florida.
    .-= Tara R.´s last blog ..RSS Links Widget =-.

    • @Tara R., The article in the Huffington Post (follow the link in the post itself) lists the states; Florida is not one of them, IF I remember correctly. There is a lot of stuff out there about it right now; all you have to do is Gooogle domestic violence pre-existing condition. And isn’t that just peachy? (note the sarcasm).

  7. To say that is HORRIBLE is an extreme understatement. My heart breaks for your Hannah…every time I think about it. Give her a big hug for me…and I can definitely understand why she might think life would be so much easier if I just didn’t tell anyone….but she did the right thing, and you as her mom -you’re doing an awesome job of standing up for and protecting your daughter…Big hugs to you…
    .-= Juls´s last blog ..One Year + Crazeeness= 2 Winners =-.

    • @Juls, With any luck the legal part of it will be coming to a close on Monday….so keep your fingers crossed for that. He is supposed to go to sentencing then, and it *sounds* like this time it might really happen. It won’t, of course, change the fact, but at least that part of it-legal closure-will be finished.

  8. I’d write a letter to the editor, but I just don’t honestly believe that ANYONE actually gives a shit any more. Not anyone who matters, that is. I’m not giving up, I just refuse to waste my time.

    This world is everything we try to pretend it isn’t. Otherwise we wouldn’t have to pretend.
    .-= FreedomFirst´s last blog ..Hope deferred =-.

    • @FreedomFirst, But if we all just decide nobody cares and don’t make an effort to change it-even if that effort goes unnoticed-then what can we ever expect to change?

      I don’t know, I don’t think I am pretending the world is different than it truly is; I think I am trying to point out the reality in which we live and trying, however small my efforts might be, to make some small different. 🙂

      And thanks for coming by; I have missed you lately and think about you often.

  9. I heard about this the other day too. It is my understanding that this applies mainly to the individual health insurance market, so that if you had to go out as an individual and purchase insurance, you might be denied coverage for being a survivor of domestic abuse. In your case, where you have insurance through your employer, I don’t think that’s allowable. I also don’t think that since you already have the insurance they could refuse to treat an injury resulting from domestic abuse…but that’s just my read. I could be totally wrong. Doesn’t make it any less appalling either way.

    Here is the link to the article that I found through a comment left of Rude Cactus’s discussion about healthcare reform. The link to the article entitled “Nowhere to Turn: How the Individual Health Insurance Market Fails Women” brings up a screen where you can download the article. I did this with no problem, so it should be easy to access and read. Sometimes I’m reluctant to click on things that say “Download” but this one didn’t seem to cause any problems.
    .-= Dreamybee´s last blog ..Most Useless Sign Ever? =-.

    • @Dreamybee, In my case, it doesn’t MATTER, because the first time Steve hit me would be the lastm and he would be hurting a LOT worse than I would! 🙂 I make light but it isn’t funny. In Idaho, anyway, the majority of people don’t have group health insurance as an option; we don’t have many businesses willing to add the cost of a group health plan, so employees are on their own. In fact, the only reason we have it now (after having worked there for six years) is because the boss figured it would be better to do it now before any kind of mandated policy had to be put into place.

      Regardless, though, it is plain wrong, and that was the point I was trying to make.

  10. This sickens me. It’s appalling! I don’t even have the words to…

    Also, sexual predators can not be rehabilitated. I worked with young males who were offenders, and I really don’t feel that our “treatment” solved the problem. If you ask me, there’s only ONE solution to this problem…

    ((HUGS))
    .-= Danielle´s last blog ..Illustrator Fun… =-.

Leave a Reply

