Friday Fragments-With Photo(updated)

Friday

It’s that time of the week again, the time where we can all relax just a little and dump out all that extraneous crap that’s been floating in our heads all week.  If you haven’t been over to Half Past Kissin’ Time to participate in her Friday Fragments, please do; it’s been a lot of fun, and I have stumbled upon some great new blogs to read, too.

***So, anyone else a little freaked out by those toilet covers that look like snowmen?  On the tank is the head with a rather creepy face, and on the seat itself is the arms and hands.  I don’t know just why this bothers me so much, but those arms on the seat cover look like they are getting ready to embrace you; when I am getting ready to pee, the last thing I want to think about is a creepy little snowman reaching up to embrace my nether regions.

Photo courtesy of EBay

Photo courtesy of EBay

***And just what is the deal with getting Christmas catalogues already?  THAT annoys me to no end.  I don’t even want to think about Christmas yet, and if you are one of those people who already have half or all of your Christmas presents bought and (gulp) wrapped, don’t tell me, please.  I won’t be able to be your friend anymore.

***My boss and his wife had a bassett hound called Maggie who is now ours.  Long story short, they don’t have the time to give her the attention she needs, she is just over a year old and hyper is a mild description.  I will write more about Maggie as she applies to us another day, but when we picked her up, T. was telling me that when she would come home from work at night, she would have to sneak in the front door and close all the drapes so that Maggie wouldn’t see her through the windows and know she was home.  “Do you know how awful it is to have to come home and hide from your own dog?” she said.

***Hannah and her boyfriend are planning on going to Homecoming next weekend.  Most of the kids at Hannah’s school are in various kinds of trouble, but when those girls found out Hannah was going to her first dance, and a formal one at that, they gathered around her and before she knew it, offered dresses and shoes and hair/makeup tips.  From what Hannah has told me so far, she appears to be a much beloved and slightly awkward sister figure to all these much more worldly girls.  Which makes me smile.

***We were at the store last night and ran into Steve’s old girlfriend; old girlfriend that still calls him or stops by his work “just to say hi.”  We have seen her one other time, and yes, there was some petty satisfaction involved then.  Even more so this time, because she is looking like 40 miles of bad road, her face is all scabbed, indicating that she is NOT, in fact, clean; and there were Steve and I, obviously doing the family grocery shopping together.  I think if she could have, she would have hit me, that was how ugly her look was.  We have a bet going that she will call him today, because she has been pretty silent lately.  I hate that I am STILL so petty, but that doesn’t change the fact.

***Eli was sick Wednesday and Thursday (he was sure it was the swine flu, which of course just made me roll my eyes), so I laid my hand on his cheek to see if he was still running a fever (he was) and was very disconcerted to feel his whiskers on the palm of my hand.  For some reason the fact that he shaves-and actually needs to-is much more striking to me than the fact that he is almost 6 feet tall and has an almost-deep voice.

There you have it, my fragments for the week.  If you want more fragmented deliciousness, go check out Half Past Kissin’ Time.  It’s well worth your time.

31 thoughts on “Friday Fragments-With Photo(updated)

  1. Great Friday Fragments! The snowmen toilet covers are VERY Creepy. I think my sister has one! LOL It doesnt have the embracing arms though… Good luck with the dog. I have a crazy Yorkie, but he is so much fun after he calms down a little!… Hope Eli feels better soon!

  2. I haven’t seen those toilet covers. Off to google images!
    Great minds think alike on the Christmas issue. Too soon!
    Sounds like you did that dog a favor. I’m always seeing animals I wish I had the time or space to adopt.
    There’s nothing wrong with internal pettiness! It’s not like you rubbed it in her face and went nyah-nyah-nyah.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

    • @Cat, Yeah, check them out, they ARE pretty creepy. And by the way, I inwardly DID the “nyah nyah” thing, and then told Steve, “You had to have been with her because you were a drunk, right?”

  3. I haven no idea about the snowman seat things – I guess I haven’t seen them – Thankfully! 🙂

    I’m sorry that you have an X following your folks around, bumping into them, etc. That’s always so hard. Congrats on being cool with her rather than outwardly angry.

    Kristin – The Goat
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

    • @Kristin, I think that it wouldn’t be so bad if she wasn’t so blatantly still after Steve. I know and actually quite like several of the women he dated prior to us, because they have all moved on and married and had families and it’s just life. This one, though, still can’t accept that after FOUR YEARS of being with me, he isn’t going to go back to her (and they were NOT still dating when he and I started going out. And actually she was never a girlfriend, more of a FWB thing, at least in HIS mind). And now that he lives with us, it’s way worse. I think she would have hit me had she been given the chance, but what do you do? Walk away. He picked me. The fact that he did comforts me and pisses her off, but again, what do you do?

      • @kori, It’s obviously an issue with her, mentally. It probably has nothing to do with you. Steve could have moved on to someone else and she’d still be the same stalker type, I bet. What a sad story though. I still think about my first true love 🙂 – swoon lol But it’s been almost 30 years, so I’ve kind of let him go. If you think that this gal is using drugs, then she isn’t in control of herself. Just keep your eyes open and make sure that you keep your wits about you, because she may not have hers.
        .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

      • @Kristin, Unfortunately, I know WAY Too much about this woman, and she does have issues. I get mad at Steve sometimes because he can’t be mean to her. Don’t get me wrong; he doesn’t go out of his way to talk to/with her, but when she calls or stops by his work he is incapable of putting a stop to it. Which in turn gives HER the impression that there is a chance. Sometimes I get pissed at Steve because he *should* tell her to just leave him the fuck alone, but I also know that it is not in his nature to do that. She is using, of that I am almost 100% sure, which is so sad, but also not an excuse.

    • @Ms. Moon, For the first time in her life, Hannah is popular; not because she is cool or rich or stunningly beautiful, but because she is kind and sweet and achingly innocent in the eyes of those young women; from what I have seen, they want her to STAY that way, too. It is a lovely thing, to hear her talk about these friends of hers.

  4. Ha. YES! I’ve found Christmas catalogs in the mail already, too – and I think it’s crazy because I’ve just thrown one birthday party for the girls, have another huge one planned for tomorrow…then comes Halloween and Thanksgiving. Christmas? Pshaw right. I prefer to leave my shopping to the very last minute thankyouverymuch. I believe being in the mall at 10pm on Christmas Eve keeps the heart pumping; though I’m thinking of becoming the disliked ‘gift card’ woman this year, you know, in the name of saving the trees by avoiding gift wrap ~
    .-= Huckdoll´s last blog ..assault of the senses =-.

    • @Huckdoll, I acutally love those gift cards, but there is also the thrill of opening a present, too. But all in good time-like, um, Christmas Eve. Am so with you there! Besides-I adore Halloween and LOVE Thanksgiving.

  5. I love getting Christmas catalogs early. It’s sickness. 🙂 I don’t buy anything yet but I love looking…

    Yours is the standard response about seeing exes — no one wants to do it, but when it happens it isn’t good.
    .-= Julia´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

    • @Julia, I actually don’t mind any of Steve’s OR my exes other than this one. Up until my ex husband screwed Sam over so completely, it didn’t even bother me or Steve to see him; he and his (now) wife would come over to see Sam once or twice a month and it wasn’t terrible at all.

  6. December 23rd is my designated shopping day. haha! I’m such a procrastinator. Mr. Ski’s ex lives in town. I’ve never seen her but apparently she saw me and told him that she could “totally kick my ass.” What a gem that one is! Although I am quite glad my ex lives over 5 hours away.

    Loved your fragments…as usual! 🙂
    .-= Mrs. Ski´s last blog ..Friday’s Fragments =-.

    • @Mrs. Ski, Funny, like I said, I actually know and like several of Steve’s exes; this one is just a doozy. I would even understand it some had they been married or had a child together, becuase then of course there might be bitter history. But they weren’t even still dating/sleeping together when Steve and I MET, so it just seems strange and crazy to me. It’s all like, just let it go already! And stop chasing MY MAN! 🙂

  7. What is this you speak of? These snowman toilet seat covers? ODD, my friend, ODD.

    Sorry about running into the random ex, that sucks.

    And my heart felt happy when I read about Hannah & the homecoming dance.

    I’m very excited for her 🙂
    Happy Friday!
    .-= Heather´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

    • @Heather, I am going to have to post one of the pictures that freaked me out so badly. Because they are over the top creepy.

      Me, too; she is so excited, she really is. It is such a “normal” thing for a girl her age, and yet a normal she hasn’t experienced yet-it makes her eyes dance.

  8. When I first read this post this morning, I was afraid to see the snowman, now that I’ve seen it… I love it! It’s hilarious! haha. I hope you’re not going to break up with me because of it.

  9. I’m going to do my best to see to it that Mom does NOT see that toilet seat design, because it would only be a matter of time….

    What is it about seeing old girlfriends that puts us in an instant time machine that transports us back to high school? It’s crazy, but you’re right; it is what it is.

    I would love to see Homecoming pics when you get some!
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Saturday Sampling =-.

Leave a Reply

