Friday Fragments

Friday Fragments?

I wasn’t going to do a Friday Fragments post today, because, well, because I have been in a funk/snit/pout/whatever you want to call it,  but then I caved.  Thanks to Mrs.4444 for the idea to dump all the extraneous stuff into a post, and thanks to all the other Fragmenters who participate! 

***I had coffee with my AA sponsor last night; she kind of chewed my ass (in a loving, gentle way) about the whole blogging/writing thing.  I wasn’t telling her about my small blogging CRISIS, we were just talking about the subject in general terms, but what she said was applicable.  She said that I have a gift, and I should neither hide it from people nor pretend to be less talented than I am.  Hmmm.  Also she said that we never know-in recovery, in our spiritual walks, in our daily lives, when something we say or do might help someone, so we as strong women in recovery need to simply stand up and live our lives with grace.  Funnily enough, I was  going through my reader this morning and my own name caught my eye; a blog friend had mentioned a comment I had written to her several months ago, and I just thought, “Holy shit, okay, God, I get it.”  Not because I am thinking I am the shit, but because there is a reason I am here.  In blogland, in the world, and even if I don’t know my place right this minute, well, sometimes I get it right.

***You all know I am pretty glad that of the four children I have, only one is a girl, right?  I am on my knees in gratitude for that again this morning; Hannah had a friend stay over last night.  A nice girl.  A cute girl.  A very giggly, twittery girl.  At 10:00 last night when they were curled up on the couch together with their green clay facial masks on, giggling and tittering, I simply threw my hands up in the air and went to bed.

***On my walk yesterday morning, I passed this woman who was waiting at the crosswalk.  She exclaimed,”Godfrey, it’s cold out here!”  I did not know that people still used that word. 

***Shameful Secret: If you are writing a recap of a TV show or are talking about a football game, I *gasp* skip the post.  Sorry.  I love you, I just hate TV.  And sports. 

***Today is our receptionist’s last day; she is going to enter the world of stay-at-home-momhood.  Which is really good for her, and I am truly glad that she is going to be able to stay home with her sweet girls.  I am, however, pissed that I am going to have to do my own filing from now on.  Fuuuuck.  I hate to file.

***Had Sam’s Parent-Teacher Conference this week.  Makes me wonder sometime why he NEEDS to go to school at all.  He had already passed all the dumb standardized testing for Elementary school, in fact he topped out the tests last year, and since that is all they CARE about, what is the point?  Still, he is in the Talented and Gifted Writing Program, and in Orchestra, and is a lovely addition to the classroom.  We have never had a bad PTC when it comes to him, and I am so proud.  He is smart, he is funny, he is kind, he listens….and so maybe he has a hard time with those things at home, but he is really a great kid.

So, there are a few of the more lighthearted fragments of the week.  I will spare you from the darker ones, because I am thoughtful like that.  Now head on over to Half Past Kissin’ Time and check out some of the other participants!

21 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. Filing sucks….A LOT! It is my least favorite thing to do, thankfully this office is in the process of going paper free so I don’t have to file that often. But now scanning has become the thorn in my side! haha!

    Aww…I miss girl time with facial masks and giggling!

    At least you’re honest about the parts of blogs you skip over! haha!
    .-= Mrs. Ski´s last blog ..Over the Top! =-.

  2. At the first sign of giigliness I would’ve been outta there. Glad Sam’s conference went so great.
    Glad that you were able to see some proof that your writing does matter and make a difference. Hope you had a good weekend.

  3. I totally enjoyed the comment by your sponsor, “We never know-in recovery, in our spiritual walks, in our daily lives, when something we say or do might help someone, so we as strong women in recovery need to simply stand up and live our lives with grace.”
    You never really do know if something you say or do might have an impact on someone else’s life so living your live with grace is not a bad way to do it.
    I enjoyed reading this post – thanks. And I will try not to bore you too much with TV and sports posts but I do occasionally talk about both.
    .-= Mr. Shife´s last blog ..Midget Westerns =-.

  4. I know you miss me for more than just filing and I miss you too. Sorry it took me so long to read cos at first they werent showing up and then I havent had anytime to read blogs…I havent even posted one since like I dunno July?! haha miss you

Leave a Reply

