It's Life

We have new neighbors in the little house behind us, the previous occupant having been arrested and locked up for heaven only knows what reason.  Kind of like the Navy over at our house- Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.  Anyway, last weekend a family moved in, and  I actually felt kind of sorry for them.  One of our other neighbors, Crazy Crackhead, likes to gossip, and he is friends of this woman, so I actually heard more than I needed or, frankly, wanted to know about them, so I did have some sympathy.  Mom to four kids, going through a divorce, living in a tiny little one-bedroom house…that doesn’t mean I ran right out and invited her over for tea and cookies, mind you, but yes, I felt for her.

For the first day.  On Saturday night, we were woken up by screams of, “I need my mommy…” over and over again.  At first it scared the shit out of me.  Hannah was staying all night at a friend’s house, and really, I initially thought something had happened and she had drug herself home but couldn’t get any further than the front lawn and was shrieking for me to come help her.  In a panic I jumped out of bed, the dogs barking crazily, only to find that the new neighbors and Crazy Crackhead and his pals were having some sort of  drunken party  get-together, and New Neighbor was the one screaming for her mommy.  Since no one else seemed a bit concerned, I would guess that she was at that drunken, teary stage-you know, the stage right after horny and before passed out.  This was, I don’t know, 1:00 in the morning or so, and her kids were all running around and well, I started feeling less sympathetic and more annoyed.  Since that night, there have been two more incidents, including the one last night when she and her ex or whatever woke Owen up when they were screaming outside his window.  I asked her to keep it down, at which point she told me it was none of my fucking business.  So now I feel completely comfortable in calling the police if it happens again.

So this is my life these days.  Drama, but none of it mine, and for that I am glad.  I am just sort of coasting along right now, not feeling much of anything.  I was trying to tentatively plan a vacation for Steve and I, but I don’t think that is going to work out any longer, so I am bummed about that.  Also trying to get a ballpark figure from the OB’s around here to see how much it is going to cost to get my tubes tied; apparently people around here don’t shop around for the best rates when it comes to health care, which seems odd to me.  The people at the billing department at the hospital are all like, “Well don’t you have insurance?”  Actually, yes I do, so,”Why does it matter to you how much it costs then, if all you have to pay is the deductible?”  and people want to blame the entire problem of health care reform on insurance companies?  I am not saying they are not to blame, but we also have a responsibility to save our insurance company money, too.  In my opinion.  Anyway, the thought of getting my tubes ties makes me very, very sad, but what do you do?  I am also trying to get the people at child Support Services to divulge the ex-husband’s address.  There is nothing stopping them from giving him MY address, unless I have documented proof that him having my address would be dangerous (proof in a restraining order, I believe), yet they cite privacy issues when I ask for his.  Doesn’t make a lick of sense.  I was hoping to be able to file contempt of court charges against him for all of these bills I have had to pay (moving on up close to the $13,000 mark now, with about $2600 to go), but without an address…so lots has been going on, but none of it blogworthy.

It’s only Wednesday, which means I still have three days before the weekend; I hope to make my apple pie filling and get it canned, and with hope the weather will cooperate so we can go out to the pumpkin patch on Saturday.  A small life, a boring life, but it is, in fact, a life.

15 thoughts on “It's Life

  1. Well, your new neighbor sounds like pure joy. ::heavy sarcasm:: I felt bad for her too…at first…but then when I read the havoc she’s been wreaking, my feelings changed. I did however laugh out loud when I read “…the stage right after horny and before passed out.” So true! Sorry to hear that your vacation plans aren’t going to work out, that’s a real bummer. And I agree regarding the insurance, we as consumers need to pay attention to cost of health care. Good for you for being a responsible health care consumer!
    .-= Mrs. Ski´s last blog ..Over the Top! =-.

  2. “A small life, a boring life, but it is, in fact, a life.”

    Haha…I loved the closing line 🙂

    How is “it’s none of your fucking business” even a response to “keep it down”? Jeez…I predict a call or calls to the cops in your near future. Still, it’s a sad scene. Too bad it’s next door.

    Also, I’m pretty impressed over your opinion on insurance co. savings; I’ve never seen anything like it and it’s totally respect-worthy.

    {{BTW – I tried deleting and re-adding your feed to my reader with no luck, so you’re in the bookmarks until you get it re-wired}}

    • @Huckdoll, I think the whole situation is sad, with the neighbor-but at the same time, I think we get to choose how we act, you know?

      Well, I do work in the insurance industry, so I maybe have a different idea of insurance companies in general. Still, I do think we have a responsibility to help keep the costs down.

  3. Hey girl! Your stuff isn’t coming up in my reader for some reason so I’m just seeing this…

    The child support system has some serious flaws. So dumb.

    Wow, tubes tied- that’s big medically and emotionally I’d imagine.

    Those neighbors sound… delightful. The poor cops that answer that call…
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

  4. How weird-I just realized that I missed two whole paragraphs in your post. So, yeah; glad you worked out the RSS thing. As for the staying at home thing, I loved it, but I’m sure it’s because the teacher in me knew how to structure our days, have lots of fun, etc. That said, I did need a break now and then.
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Sundays in My City/Weekly Winners =-.

  5. Whoa- I hope those new neighbors do not last long and they probably won’t but when I think of the children in such a situation my heart breaks.
    I think you should plan a vacation with Steve- why not? Who says you have to take it any time soon? I love the foreplay part of vacation. Stretch it out. For a year. Whatever.
    You deserve it, no matter when it comes.
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..Monday, Monday =-.

  6. Oh that sucks about the neighbors. But glad there is not so much drama in your life. That is pretty stupid. Sometimes I think people site privacy issues b/c they just don’t want to get up and do something. That is so ridiculous that he can know where you are.

  7. We went to the pumpkin patch saturday and it was the first time that I’ve been there myself but it was fun…next time you drive by my house look at my flag one that it took me 2 hrs to carve:)

Leave a Reply

