Weekend Recap-The Swine flu Edition

Everything was extremely quiet at our house this weekend, with Sam just on the mend from what we *think* was the Swine Flu and with Eli coming down with it.  They are both home today, one almost better and the other just beginning to get terribly ill, and now we just hope that none of the rest of us get it.  I am slightly skeptical about whether it IS the Swine Flu or not; while Sam was quite ill and felt terrible, I had thought he would be sicker; he was actually feeling pretty good yesterday, but had a slight relapse.  I anticipate him being well enough to go to school tomorrow, anyway.  Still, we are treating him and Eli both with Tamiflu, and lots of tea and Gatorade and water and juice.  Really, not much else we CAN do, you know?

Poor Hannah, her boyfriend broke up with her last night.  As the mom, I want to get all protective and indignant and, really, just kick his ass, but I am trying really hard to just stay out of it.  She neither needs nor wants my advice, and has to navigate this stuff herself.  I did tell her, when she was just itching to call him to see if they could work it out, that no, she couldn’t call him.  In fact, she should give it at least until Wednesday to decide whether or not she wants to try to talk to him, or if she even cares anymore.  Funny, she called one of her good girlfriends and she told her the same thing, though a bit more harshly: “Why do you want to talk to someone who broke UP with you?   Do you REALLY want to try to get back together with him?  Don’t you think you deserve better?”  so that made me happy, that this friend seems to have her head together.  I do think that Hannah is sad, but I also had to laugh at her tragic heroine persona this morning.  I DO believe that teenagers are capable of feeling real love, and I also believe that heartbreak at 16 feels the same as it does at 26, but I also think that she will heal quickly.  I hope, anyway.

I was able to finally finish with all of my apples, and now my shelves are full of lovely golden applesauce and dark, grainy apple butter, and the most beautiful cinnamony pie filling imaginable.  I was also able to can 12 quarts of pumpkin, and their orange color is so bright that it makes me feel happy.  The first batch of pumpkin bread of the season was ALSO made, and par for the course, it didn’t turn out very well but is still edible.

Steve and I went to the neighboring town simply to get out of the house for a few hours yesterday; I was going a little stir-crazy, having been home with Sam since Thursday morning.  We had lunch and did a little shopping, getting the two little boys some much-needed jeans.  I was not thrilled with the selection at Old Navy (and haven’t been for quite some time), so we ended up at Penney’s where we usually end up.  There was a good sale going on, so we ended up with four pair of jeans for $41.00-not bad.  It’s funny, Owen’s 3T pants are about two inches too short, but the 4T’s are quite a bit too long.  Why can’t there be a size 3.5T?

So, nothing major to report, really.  I haven’t been online as much, and have gotten a little bit out of the routine of blogging and reading/commenting.  Then there was this issue with my feed, which I believe is fixed.  In some ways, it’s been a nice break, and in others, well, it’s hard to get back into the habit of writing.  Still, here I am, in all my glory (tongue in cheek here), ready to begin again.

19 thoughts on “Weekend Recap-The Swine flu Edition

  1. Poor Hannah, but good advice from you and her friend.

    Sounds like we both had fall cooking weekends- I went into a pumpkin and apple baking frenzy this weekend too. Love how it makes the house smell!
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Fall is here! =-.

  2. I am in awe of your canning. Yes, I completely am. And my feed still isn’t working for your blog AND, no, you can’t quit writing because, well, you can’t. You can try but it won’t work.
    So there!
    And I’m glad of that.
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..Monday, Monday =-.

    • @Ms. Moon, I think you have to delete the old feed in your reader and add the new one. I think.

      And the canning? Very time consuming BUT also extremely satisfying; if nothing else, we can eat pumpkin and applesauce, plus the carrots and peppers we froze, and the potatoes we have. We won’t starve, anyway-a good feeling. Not htat we are in danger of starving, you understand, but it is still very satisfying to me.

  3. Oh, poor Hannah. I’m sure she’ll be fine, but right now it sucks. Ice cream and chocolate are great for this sort of thing. 🙂

    And glad that it probably isn’t the snoutbreak at your house. Hang in there. 🙂
    .-= melissaz´s last blog ..Monday Mission =-.

    • @melissaz, That’s funny, her girlfriend said that she would bring over ice cream on Saturday and they could talk about how terrible men are. Which I don’t think either of them BELIEVE, but at the moment I am sure it feels like it. 🙂

  4. Man those teenage years were tough. The calling is almost like a knee jerk reaction. I would do that even now, then get mad as hell. Her friend is absolutely right-she SO deserves better.

  5. Lucky for me I never had dating troubles like that when I was in high school. However, I never had dates either! I think in high school I had one girlfriend for about a week. Still, love is real at 16 but with the dating pool in your face every single day, it is easier to bounce back.
    .-= Hockeymandad´s last blog ..A State-cation =-.

Leave a Reply

