Friday Fragments-Gratitude Edition

Friday Fragments?

Friday Fragments is proudly hosted by Mrs.4444 over at Half Past Kissin’ Time.  For a growing list of participants, head on over to check her out!

***Gratitude abounds in the knowledge that my tires are still under warranty, AND road hazard is covered.  It involves a certain amount of hassle for Steve in that his job is to call the company and jump through all the hoops (and by that I mean it really IS his job; he is in the service department at a Chevy dealership), but with any luck, I will have a brand new tire within a few weeks.  Whew-financial bullet dodged.

***Also in the dodging bullets category, while the washer isn’t fixed, per se, it is no longer leaking water all over the floor.  The trick is to run smaller loads (crap; six people = a buttload of laundry) AND to keep the clean litter box being used to catch the leaking water emptied out.    So it isn’t ideal; few things truly are.  However, I am so grateful that I don’t have to make a trip to the laundromat, which makes me feel dirty just walking in (and before anyone gets all up in arms about that, I have already paid my dues by having had to lug the three older kids to the laundry for about 4 years.  I have paid my dues).  And if it can be babied through until after the first of the year, I will be so happy.

***I am grateful to have a place-here in blogland-to write down all those icky feelings I was feeling yesterday.  Simply by articulating, ‘Hey, I am sad and upset and blah blah blah,” the power was taken out of those same feelings and I felt much better throughout the day.  It is a reminder to me to take my own advice and, “Feel however you feel and move on.” 

***We still haven’t carved our pumpkins for Halloween; too many other pressing needs in the evenings.  And in keeping with the gratitude thing, isn’t it nice that if we don’t end up carving them, I won’t have to go buy more pumpkin to can?  Really, that is a win-win situation for me.

***Hannah has apparently recovered from her heartbreak over her boyfriend breaking up with her.  There have already been several “new” boys calling her (she thinks of it as really neat and exciting, while I think of it as sharks smelling fresh blood in the water), and I am grateful that she appears to be learning that there are always other options and she certainly doesn’t need to settle for less than she deserves and wants.

***And tomorrow is Halloween; this brings gratitude in the form of Mounds and Almond Joy.  I get first dibs on these items, as no one else likes them. 

***feels good today to be over (for the moment) my feelings of frustration and worry yesterday.  Although I might not get what I want in many, many ways, I know that I have everything I need, and for that I really am glad.  It hasn’t always been the case, as most of you well know, so indeed, progress is being made even if it doesn’t feel like it some days.

For more fragments of thoughts from a variety of really neat people, click on over to see Mrs. 4444.  You can even choose to take part today and add your name to the list; if nothing else, you might get a few new blogs in your Reader!

24 thoughts on “Friday Fragments-Gratitude Edition

  1. Hurray! I wondered about the tire warranty thing but forgot to comment on that.
    And I am so glad you don’t have to go to a laundromat. Bless your heart!
    Hey- I love the Mounds too. Almond Joys as well. But since I don’t have kids who trick-or-treat, unless I buy any I won’t be tempted. This makes me sad.
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..Michelle Put These Thoughts In My Head =-.

    • @Ms. Moon, I have decided to cheerfully embrace my ever-growing ass (seriously, for the first time in 11 years, barring being pregnant with Owen, my pants are getting too tight) until after christmas. Life is too short.

      Yep, it is a wonder what a difference a day makes in terms of atittude and clarity. Better still that Steve is getting paid to get the new tire, you know, since it is part of his job. the rest? I am always going to want a vacation with just Steve, but accepting that it isn’t going to happen has helped. I am always going to wish I could go buy the kids new clothes (though we did get the jeans for the little boys about three weeks ago), but-again, acceptance….so. It could be worse.

  2. Well, first off, I thought I had it bad with the laundry thing (4 people). I would imagine that with six it’s pretty much perpetual…Its a wonder the washer lasted this long!

    Second? haven’t done our pumpkins either. So tired and cranky that I’m thinking about just punching my fist through them, shoving a candle in there and calling it a day :).

    Have a happy Halloween!

  3. Oh – I feel your washing machine woes!! Ours is dead… I think. I was stringing it along, trying all sorts of little tricks to get it to complete it’s cycles, but it finally just gave out (and it’s only 6 months old, too) and I’m doing laundry at my sisters house because at the moment, just the thought of looking at the price tags of new washers is stressing me out! 😉

    Glad you are able to stretch yours out a little longer!

    • @Eve, Oh, man, at least mine is over a year old and was used when we got it (I really do think it is probably 40 years old). Isn’t it awful to have to cart your things elsewhere in order to do them? Ugh….

  4. So glad that your tire is under warranty still..shew! I hate unexpected car expenses (knocking on wood now). They are so frustrating.

    You can have my Almond Joys too…I love the Mounds but me and almonds don’t get along.

    I really want to carve a pumpkin this year. To be honest I don’t think I have ever carved a pumpkin. What are the kids being for the holiday?

    Good luck with the washer, I hope babying it/nursing it will get you through the new year too. Although with six people in the house I’m sure small loads suck.

    Happy Halloween!
    .-= Mrs. Ski´s last blog ..Friday Fragments!! =-.

    • @Mrs. Ski, Sam is a vampire and Owen is Wolverine; which really just means he gets to wear a mask and have a costume that make him look like he has abs of steel-I don’t think it really looks like anything I recognize, ha ha.

  5. It could definately be the pump in the washer. Our old one that we had when we were first married started with a little leak then one day a huge gushing catastrophy. Its a pain to change and sometimes to get to but it does come from washing too large of loads and or clogged filters in the hoses. We had those problems.

  6. A busted washer or flat tire could easily send me over the edge. Somehow, when it’s all fixed, I have such an enormous feeling that all is right with the world.

    And I don’t think you have to apologize for hating laundromats. Who in their right mind would choose a laundromat over the luxury of being able to do it in the comfort of their own home at any time, day or night?

    That didn’t sound right…
    .-= michelle´s last blog ..Be Bwave Fursday or Be Bwave Fwyday =-.

  7. If your laundromats are anything like the ones we have around here, I totally get that ‘feeling dirty’ just walking into the place. Not to mention having to lug all the laundry and keep the kids corralled during the laundry process. If my washer were acting up like yours is, I’d absolutely be doing the same thing you’re doing. 🙂

    WooHoo for dodging the financial bullet on the tire – glad that it will be replaced and your hubby gets paid for the time, too! 😉

    We haven’t carved our pumpkins yet, too – and I’m with you, it’s a win/win if we don’t, because then I’ll just cut them up for pie filling! 😉

    Happy FF a day late! 🙂
    .-= Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)´s last blog ..Friday Fragments VGNO – Ghosts, Bedtime, Homework and Thanksgiving Feast Part 5: Pumpkin Cognac Crème Brûlée =-.

  8. Who doesn’t like Almond Joys and Mounds? What, are they crazy??! I am all about the chocolate and coconut thing. Not that I can eat it anymore, but I can still like ’em from afar!

    I love Matt’s idea to punch a hole in the pumpkin and call it done. I’m gonna do that, too. 😀
    .-= Smellyann´s last blog ..Thoroughly Aggravated =-.

  9. Hey there! I’m trying to catch up, sounds like you’ve had some maintenance issues this week but I’m glad it’s all coming out OK. Sorry you were sad yesterday. Blogging is definitely cheaper than therapy.

    I love Mounds, but so does my mom…. so it’s like there’s a secret war on to eat the most without being obvious about it.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

  10. Sounds like you were in a good place when you wrote this; I’m glad things improved on a number of fronts.

    Kendall and I carved a pumpkin just in time for trick-or-treaters. I’m going to post the recipe for the seeds–soo good!
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Weekly Winners =-.

  11. So glad to see a things are looking up. Yay for Hannah moving on. As luck would have it Jayson got two Almond Joys (but no Mounds) and that was the only chocolate in his pumpkin. 😦

  12. Hope your Halloween was good. Glad Hannah realizes that there’s other fish in the sea…and someone just perfect for her, too..I’m sure! And, I can totally relate to the “sharks” comment. I feel the same way, and Maeci’s only 13…… Have an awesome week!

Leave a Reply

