Friday Fragments 11/13/09

Friday Fragments?

Friday Fragments is proudly hosted by Mrs.4444 at Half Past Kissin’ time.

***I got married the first time on a Friday the 13th.  I should have known then that is just wasn’t going to work out.

***I have found that Italian Espresso Roast coffee is even betterthan Colombian.  Truly.

***I did the whole homemade granola thing last weekend, so this weekend I am attempting homemade yogurt.  Before you know it I am going to quit shaving my legs and live outside in a tent.

***Except that I hate to be cold.  Steve loves me so much that he got out the electric blanket this week and very kindly spread it out on my side of the bed.  He even goes in an turns it on before I go to bed so it is already warm.  If I have a tent with electricity, well, that would be just about perfect.

***Eli got in trouble at school this week.  We had a little come-to-Jebus meeting on Tuesday, got a few kind of important things out in the open, and that was good.  Nothing solved, mind you, but at least on the table.  He does have Saturday school tomorrow, though.  Which means I have to take him to school by 6:45 A.M.  Which means leaving at about 6:20.  I won’t go into all the gory details, but suffice to to say that while his behavior itself is not okay and is being addressed, the reasons behind it?  Pretty understandable.

***I about fell over and died from shock when my mom called on Wednesday to say she was in town and wanted to take us to dinner.  She even got here early and offered to pick up the kids so I could go pick up Steve and just meet them at the restaurant.  I did feel bad because Jacquie said that Owen wasn’t at all sure about being picked up by her and her boyfriend (though as an aside, another friend and I have decided that BF just isn’t suitable, and since she has been married 7 times “victim” might be more accurate), and it because he really doesn’t know who she is; it has been almost a year since we saw them last.  Also, he told the BF, “I don’t want to sit by you; you are scary.”  Hm.

It appears I have absolutely nothing of value to say today, so I now direct you over to Mrs.4444, where surely others can entertain you much more than I have today.

47 thoughts on “Friday Fragments 11/13/09

  1. Oooh – an electric blanket. I think I might need to go buy one of those. I could use it to wrap around my legs while I sit here at the computer!! It is just TOO cold today!

    I agree: Italian Roast is always better!! 🙂

    Oh my. Well if a kid says an adult is scary, I figure there is probably a lot of fact to it!

  2. You tell like it is Owen!! Good on you child!

    I don’t know if I can really be considered a ‘real’ coffee drinker – not if you ask my husband anyway – I like me a good old cup of Folgers with lots of non dairy creamer and a spoon of sugar. Hmmmm…. I can’t handle all that really dark, really strong stuff.

    And I never did get the whole cigarette and coffee thing…When I was a smoker I HATED the taste of coffee and a cigarette…ewww…left my mouth tasting even more like butts than either one on its own, LOL!!

    • @Tammy, Go to Coffee Bean Direct.com; GREAT prices and it is beautifully dark and oily and almost orgasmic. Try putting a Dove chocolate in your mouth and then sipping this kind; heaven, I swear.

    • @Ms. Moon, I love the weight of blankets, too, so I have the regualr blankets on top of the electric one.

      And I don’t believe in stifling kids’ instincts ( a carryover from HAVING my own stifled as a kid, I guess) so I thought it was good that O. could say that, you know?

  3. One of my friends got married on Friday the 13th…that didn’t work out, either. 😉

    Ooooh…I’ll have to try the Italian Espresso Roast…I’m intrigued!

    Awwww! Steve’s a keeper for sure! We got one of those electric/heated mattress pads that have dual controls…that way if one of us is colder than the other, we don’t blast the other with too much heat. Hubby is good about turning them on before we go to bed so it’s nice and toasty warm to crawl into! If you do move into a tent, will you start growing dreadlocks? 😉

    Saturday School doesn’t sound like fun…especially since you have to get up so early to drop Eli off.

    Kids have an uncanny sense about people – so Owen’s comments might be right on the money. 😉

    Happy FF! 🙂
    .-= Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)´s last blog ..Friday Smörgåsbord – Fragments, Happy Hour, VGNO Fun! =-.

  4. I used to own a coffeehouse and didn’t drink a drop of it LOL Husbands that turn on the electric blanket…now that’s love 🙂 My parents never grounded me because my mom said that it was more of a punishment to the parents. I think that must be what the Saturday school was going for, don’t you think?
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

  5. Steve sounds like a doll… how cool is that?

    You’re going crunchy!

    Sounds like you’re dealing with the Eli issue- I hope it gets resolved. Sorry you have to leave the house at 6:20 on a Saturday though.

    Weird on the mom’s boyfriend thing… but I guess it’s nice she’s making an effort? I don’t think I know enough of the backstory on that one.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

Leave a Reply

