Weekend Recap

I am going back to work today after almost a week-and now that I am feeling better, I am glad to be going back.  Not just for the money, but because I have started to feel a little pent-up and it will be good to be out amongst the real world again.  I don’t know what kind of mess might be waiting for me at work, but regardless, it will still be good to resume my normal activities.

The weekend wasn’t anything spectacular, as you might have guessed.  I did make it to the AA meeting on Friday, but we only stayed for part of it; I started coughing like mad, for one thing, and we also had Sam and Owen with us, so we left early.  It was funny, though, that the two boys behaved better than some of the adults there.  I try to be patient, remembering how I was when I first got into the program, but it is still annoying sometimes to have to remind adults how they need to behave in public.

Saturday was spent grocery shopping and cleaning, aided of course by Hannah and Eli.  I also laid on the couch and read a lot, and then later Hannah’s boyfriend and Eli’s girlfriend both came over for dinner and a movie.  Homemade pizza and brownies, and GI Joe (which certainly wasn’t such a hit due to the marvelous acting skills, I will say that), and everyone was out by 10:00.

And yesterday was more of the same, just a quiet day at home.  It snowed a little bit and then turned bitterly cold, so it was a good day to lounge around on the couch and finish a book.  We were in bed by 9:30 last night, and I slept like a log.

See, not so much excitement, which was just what I needed over the weekend.  I feel a ton better than I did all week last week, so that is obviously a good thing, and hey, it’s a short week, too-which is also a good thing.  Now we’ll just hope that no one else in the house gets sick enough to have to stay home (at least not until after the first of the year!) and all will be well.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Congrats, too, on your 10 years. That is an accomplishment. I hear you saying that it doesn’t mean anything, but it does. Your kids will face trials some day (yes, more than today), and they will have your example to inspire them to get through it. You have raised wonderful, respectful children; that is an accomplishment. Could you have done that, were you not sober doing so?
    .-= mrs4444´s last blog ..Friday Fragments, Episode #72 =-.

Leave a Reply

