If Money Were Not An Issue….

Cat over at Young Old Crone was writing this morning about what her ideal holiday(s) would be if money were not an issue…and while I don’t really know what that would mean to me in my wildest dreams, well, here is where I would start:

Want to help someone who really, really needs it?  Go check out Karen Sugarpants.  We all (okay, I) feel like things are rough for us, but you know what?  I am so blessed, and I have been where this woman Karen talks about IS, and I sat here at my desk and wept when I read this post.  It is cold, and I-well.  I don’t even know this woman, but I know her.  If any of you find yourself with an extra $10, send it her way.

Also, Heather over at The Extraordinary Ordinary was writing about these beautiful bags made by women in Haiti, and although I can’t describe the situation as well as SHE did by far, I know the bags are beautiful and each purchase serves toward lifting some woman out of poverty and into independence.

I don’t know how many of you use MyPoints, but did you know that you can donate your points to the Red Cross?  Or you can look in your area for a blood bank and donate blood. 

Maybe it doesn’t seem very Christmasy, because there isn’t something tangible to give or get, but have you thought about becoming an organ donor?  If you need to know more about becoming a donor, here is one website that gives you both a wealth of information about organ donation, and also ways to help.  Check it out at United Network for Organ Sharing, or visit Hallie over at Wonderful World of Wieners.

Also, prompted by my own needs, we will be going through our closets and drawers this weekend and culling out our unworn or outgrown items and donating them.  I know that locally, there are a variety of different organizations accepting donations right now, and Freecycle is also a great place to find someone needing what you surely have. One thing I have done in the past is also put a gift card in the pocket of an adult clothing item, or in an envelope in the top of the box.  If you prefer to remain anonymous, check your local charities or get a tag off a gift tree at your local store or bank.  Since we already cooked and ate a 28 pound turkey I bought while feverish and ill, we will be donating the turkey I got from my boss to our local Christmas council. 

I would presume that most of the people reading this post have hands, and a heart, and the ability to do good work; I don’t know about the rest of you, but I know that what I need far more than toys or presents or anything like that is simply knowing I am not alone.  And maybe it seems paltry in comparison to everything else, but that is what I am going to give back-because you guys?  You give that to me every single day.  So I will smile more, and offer to help where I can, and simply be present.

As for the rest?  Well, hell, who knows?  Oh-NOT true; I think I would take my kids to Disneyland and meet April and HER kids.  Then, I would take Steve and go to this place, or somewhere like it.

What would YOU do?

11 thoughts on “If Money Were Not An Issue….

  1. Fabulous post! 🙂

    It’s uncanny that you mentioned MyPoints because I was totally thinking last night that I should tell you about that. But being the selfish 20-something-year old that I am, I just redeemed my points for a $50 giftcard to iTunes!

    And I totally looked into organ donation last week! I read an article in People magazine about a kidney donor chain and I decided that if I’m eligible, I’d like to donate my kidney. BUT the thing that discouraged me from pursuing it right NOW is the financial hardship it puts on the donor. There are lost wages and travel expenses to take into consideration. Although I doubt I’d have much for travel expenses since I live in a pretty big city. But I’m will probably just register in the event that someone out there wants my kidney and can cover my expenses (just so I don’t become homeless). However, I have definitely elected to be an organ donor should I ever be in a fatal accident. (lovely thought, i know.) And ultimately, who knows if I’m even eligible given that I depression.

    I know April will whole-heartedly disagree, but Disneyland is overrated. 😉 I’m not a fan, and I’ve been told I have no soul because of it.

    …and uh, I was just looking for the website I looked at last week, which indicates the potential costs to the donor, and instead I found this lovely warning: (apparently I won’t be allowing a kidney recipient to cover the donor costs…)

    It is absolutely against the law to have any financial benefit from organ donation.

    If you are paid, or request to be paid, for any transplant you will be prosecuted to the full extent of the law. Violators of this criminal prohibition, can be subject to $50,000 fines and/or five years of imprisonment. Our terms allow us to give all of your personal, contact and tracking information to the FBI without your permission if you violate this prohibition.
    .-= Julie´s last blog ..Corporate Bullies: An open letter to Bally Total Fitness =-.

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! Great post, and so selfless- I didn’t know I could donate MyPoints, but I am an organ donor. I don’t have any leftover money for Karen’s friend right now (my debt, ex-debt, diapers, oh my!) but I will keep that family in my thoughts. When I left my ex it was because he chased me out with a gun in the middle of the night. I thank God every day that my son wasn’t born yet, because a detour to get him before I ran could’ve been the difference between making it out and not. Leaving suddenly and with nothing… well, it sucks. I couldn’t imagine doing it with 4 kids. She’s a brave soul.

    I try to give at least a few dollars to Toys for Tots every year, and I’m coordinating my company’s habitat for humanity efforts (a bunch of insurance nerds building a house- should be interesting). I figure that if I don’t have cash, I can give whatever time I can scrounge up. I consign a few of Boy’s things but I mostly donate or hand down to other families- I was gifted a ton of baby boy clothes by a friend, and I definitely have been paying those forward.

    I’ve only been to Disney World, but it’s awesome. And I get the feeling that link to Shutters will be inspiring daydreams- it’s gorgeous. I hope someday you can do all the giving that’s in your heart.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Writer’s Workshop =-.

  3. I am an organ donor. And I just did the whole closet thing too. I make sure to do it every three to four months since the little man outgrows things so quickly these days. Since my friends also give to me the least I can do is pay it forward.

    These are all great ideas. My ideal holiday would be me and Jayson going to a shelter in the morning to help with dinner or gifts for a few hours and then coming home to watch Christmas movies and unwrap presents (and drink eggnog-LOVE that stuff!). I’m not all that dedicated to cooking so hopefully some friends would have something. I’m unfortunately not all that committed to my family either so no huge dinners for me gathered around my uncle’s or sister’s huge hd tv’s. It seems like everything’s a show anyway if you get what I mean.

  4. Thank you so much for linking to my post about my friend. I just learned this morning that her church is making her family their “Santa Family,” so it’s good to know they will be looked after for Christmas! We raised over $1000 so far, and I withdrew the $1000 on Friday. Once it hits my account, I will take it to her. She has NO IDEA. Everyone has been amazing and I really appreciate everything everyone did the other day, pulling together like they all did? Beautiful.
    .-= Karen Sugarpants´s last blog ..It’s Beginning To Look a Lot Like Christmas, Except For One Family I Know =-.

  5. I guess meeting MATT and HIS kids, who are only 45 minutes away from Disneyland, isn’t a priority for you then? That’s cool. I can take it.

    How did you FIND that HOTEL?! It’s gorgeous. Whoever told you about that must have exquisite taste in hospitality options. You’re very lucky to have such refined and intelligent friends.
    .-= Matt´s last blog ..Let’s Get Down To Business =-.

  6. Hey Kori, i have a bunch of coats that will probably fit your family. Not so much for the younger dudes but certainly for you and your daughter and probably your oldest son. We have some really great clothes that would probably fit your daughter too and would love to send them to you. Email me a shipping address and I will get them in shipping on Monday.

Leave a Reply

