Friday Fragments 12/11/09

 Mommy's Idea

 Time for another rousing rendition of Friday Fragments, brought to you by Mrs.4444 over at Half Past Kissin’ Time.  I haven’t taken part myself in a little while, so I wasn’t aware that she had a new button (which also tells you how many blogs I have been reading, too); isn’t it pretty?  Don’t you want one for yourself? 

***There is a weather woman on our local news who looks like she stumbled in to work after a hard night out on the town, wearing the same clothes she wore the day before.  She has this very odd hair that also perpetuates this image I have of her-it looks like bed head, all the time-only just in the very back, so it appears as if she was doing a couple of things in bed before work that didn’t involve sleeping.  But the kicker is that she really cannot speak; during the weather report last night, I heard her say more than once, “I seen…” and “We seen….” and I thought I was going to have to storm the newsroom and give her some much needed grammar lessons.  Not that I am in any way a grammar expert-but, you know, I am not on TV.

***Two girls came into the office to deliver a poinsetta  that someone had ordered.  They were sullen and pierced, and didn’t actually know who ordered the plant. “It was a guy,” they said hopefully, as if that would help, but we have three “guys” in the office.  “I think he was one of the head guys,” they said,” but all three of the guys are “head guys.”  I named the names-blank looks.  So finally I said, “So, you took an order and a re delivering a plant but you don’t know who ordered it?  What organization are you with?”  “Oh,” they said, relieved to have been asked a question they could answer, “We are from the Future Business Leaders of America!” 

***We are supposed to have a heat wave here today; it might get all the way up to 20 degrees!  Which is actually a 30 degree jump.  Where did I put that bikini?

***Had parent-teacher conferences for Hannah on Wednesday.  Her dance teacher was so excited to meet me that I really just thought she was going to pick me up and kiss me (she is about a foot taller than me).  Not only is Hannah doing well in her class, but she is going to be the lead dancer for the performance.  How cool is that?  This teacher is hilarious, too; she said,”This class is the best one in terms of ability.  The last class was very passionate….I think three or four pregnancies resulted from that class.”  I was talking (again) about this teacher to everyone who would listen yesterday morning (I really liked her), and Eli said,”Mom, if I didn’t know any better, I would think you have a crush on her!”

***Speaking of girl-crushes, perhaps Eli is right; how else would I ever end up being a stage mom for their two performances? Now that you have picked yourself up off the floor from laughing at the idea, I gotta tell you, I really like this teacher.  Otherwise I would not have been so easily convinced that I actually wanted to be a stage mom.

***I did a little reconnoiter of the route I took the day I got pulled over and ticketed; he wrote me a ticket for going 23 in a school zone (15), and two things pop out:  1. I wasn’t in fact in a school zone (which is why I was reconnoitering), it had ended about three blocks prior to pulling me over, and 2. his first estimate was that I was going 20 mph but he ticketed me for going 23-therefore, even IF I was going 23, I was still going under the speed limit.  I am actually looking forward to going to court to fight this, as I have every possible defense lined up in my head. 

So, now that you are done scrolling through MY head, there are some other interesting brain dumps to check out at Half Past Kissin’ Time!

18 thoughts on “Friday Fragments 12/11/09

  1. I, too, have been a slacker. I’ve missed a couple weeks of FF, and I can’t promise it won’t happen again! haha!

    I really can’t stand bad grammar either especially when it comes out of the mouths of public speakers…I mean come on! And I just have an issue with weather people. Half the time they guess at what the weather will be like and they never get fired for being wrong, what a great job.

    So glad that you loved Hannah’s dance teacher, she sounds great! I mean if she wasn’t great why would you volunteer to be a stage mom. That should be fun and you’re helping out the class and that’s rewarding too!

    I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. There’s a new traffic girl on the local news that I watch and I HATE her. I mean, I can understand being nervous your first few times, but she tries to play it off by being cutesy, and that just bugs me.
    And I love you.
    .-= April´s last blog ..Yes, I’m still alive! =-.

  3. I totally think you should fight the ticket! What a jerk! Good luck!

    So the weather woman has the JBF look going on? lol There is a lady at the gas station by my house that has so much hair spray in it, it’s quite disturbing. I need to get a picture of it some day. And what self control not to storm the news room! Ack!

    And about the poinsettia…this is why I am scared for our future at times. Kids that have no clue AND are in FBLA?! Holy toledo!

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Ugh!! I cannot stand looking or hearing grammatical errors. Spelling I can forgive.

    I’m so excoted for Hannah!! Dancing is a great way to build confidence (or so I hear) when I get some money I plan to take some lessons myself.

    Oh you’ve got that nailed down I would totally fight it. I bet he did it because he “just knows” you won’t be able to show up. I heard a cop actually say that about someone one time. Unbelievable!!!! I would love to see the look on his face.

  5. Do go and fight that ticket! The odd the cop is even going to show are slim to none, giving you an automatic win….and if he does show , it seems to me Mr. piggy was just bored and looking for a “reason”

  6. Bad grammar with anyone on TV always bugs me, too.

    Doesn’t it just make you feel so good to know that those two girls delivering the poinsettia are part of the FUTURE Leaders? 😉

    WooHoo for Hannah and a great Parent-Teacher report!

    I’ll be curious to see what happens when you go fight your ticket after your reconnoiter – good job scoping things out so you can be armed with the facts! 🙂

    Happy FF late! 🙂
    .-= Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)´s last blog ..Friday Happy Hour Fragments leading to VGNO for Fun =-.

  7. Fight the power, and good luck in court. I quit watching the local news a long time ago. It is just too depressing and sad. Not the news – which can be quite often – but the actual news casters are just so horrifying it makes it nauseating to watch. And it sure was nice to see the temperature go up a little bit and see some of that snow melt. Have a good week.
    .-= Mr. Shife´s last blog ..So Very Thankful =-.

  8. I’d fight the ticket, too.

    The weather wench? Insane. Why in the world would the station employ her?

    Yea on the pt conference and dance performance! You’re terrific; it’s nice to see that pay off now and then 🙂
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Commenting Craze =-.

Leave a Reply

