Friday Fragments

 Mommy's Idea

Clearly I should be grateful for Mrs.4444 over at Half Past Kissin’ Time for hosting Friday Fragments every week; otherwise I would not have a single reason whatsoever to post!

***Ms. Moon has posted more than once about her middle-of-the-night Chex Mix feasts.  Well.  I have found something even worse (or better, depending on your perspective): caramel Chex Mix.  I won’t tell you how much I ate, but I will tell you that my justification was, well, that it is cereal.  How bad can that possibly be for you?

*** A couple of nights ago I had just barely fallen to sleep after having tossed and turned until midnight, and Owen woke up sick.  I pretended to be asleep so that Steve had to get up and deal with it.  I am not sure I truly got away with it, as it would be atypical of me to sleep through vomiting, but he never did say anything about it. I did feel a tiny bit bad, but then I remembered another time not too long ago when Owen barfed all over the bed, over my shoulder and down my back, and even hit the closet door with his puke-and Steve slept through the entire episode.  I stopped feeling bad then.

***Speaking of Owen, he has just recently begun saying his prayers by himself.  We always start out with “Heavenly Father,” except he says,”Hemmingly Daughters,” which conjures up images of little girls in white pinafores doing needlepoint.  It never fails to make me smile.

***I love music.  A lot.  I can’t sing well, don’t know how to read music, and have no idea even what I sing, other than NOT soprano.  Regardless, I am going to join the choir for my friend J.’s church this spring, because there is a community-wide “Songs of Faith” concert that performs in the Fine Arts Center over the 4th of July.  What the hell, right?

***I went Christmas shopping with J. last night (at her work, instead of doing a gift exchange, each person in the office picked someone from the Women and Children’s Shelter to buy for); I asked her (in context) whether or not my family is weird, and she said, with no hesitation, “Absolutely; but in a good way!”  Hmm.  Ask a stupid question….

***The future business leaders I posted about last week finally arrived with the poinsettia, after having unearthed the name of the correct “head guy” who ordered it.  It arrived half dead, but hey, at least it GOT here.

***The big snow we were supposed to get earlier this week arrived-in the form of torrential rain.  Therefore, what snow we had left is also gone.  So much for a white Christmas.  Just when I thought I might be feeling the very slightest glimmerings of the Christmas spirit…..gone, just like that.

Okay, now you can head over to see Mrs. 4444 and read some of her other participants. It will be worth your time!

26 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. The prayer is precious. Hemmingly daughters! 🙂 And, as far as the reference of Santa Land as hell. HA~ You were pretty close. It looks like Santa Claus vomitted commercialized Christmas spirit everywhere, and no one came to clean it up! 🙂 Hope a little Christmas Cheer makes it your way…just a little does everyone good, I think…(but, of course I could be wrong!)
    .-= Juls´s last blog ..Friday Fragments! =-.

    • @Juls, Oh, I’ll get there…I am cheered considerably by the fact that I didn’t have to go to Santa Land, so thanks for that. Sending you hugs-I know it can’t be easy for you right now but-you are doing great.

  2. I think this post is my favorite FF so far!!!
    you are so funny

    loved how you justified the caramel chex mex as cereal so something I would do
    and um pretending to be asleep so something I have done!!!

    Hope your weekend is wonderful and that Owen is better love how he starts out his Prayers so precious
    .-= georgie´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

  3. The second I read Hemmingly Daughters, The Old Man and the Sea popped into my head, lol.

    If you don’t want to gain 30 lbs, just hope that Turtle Chex Mix never makes it to your area. Chocolate, caramel, and nuts…drool…

    The choir sounds fun! Keep us posted. And there’s still time for a white Christmas. Not where I am by any means, but you “out west”/”up north” people still have a chance!
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments! =-.

  4. Ugh, the only thing worse than kid barf in the middle of the night is kid barf down your back. Yuck!! Hope Owen’s feeling better now… I have three sickies of my own, just in time for Christmas.

    Happy holidays, hope you feel the spirit soon! 😀
    .-= Smellyann´s last blog ..Six Word Saturday =-.

  5. If that poinsettia were mine, it would be all-the-way dead. I hope you were able to revive yours.

    I remember the days of faking sleep, hoping Mr.4444 would get up (he sometimes did 🙂 Nowadays, it’s faking sleep so as to not have to take the dog out (or clean up his barf) in the middle of the night. Hey, we’ve earned the right, right?

    I’m glad you’re joining that choir. Being part of something so beautiful is a wonderful feeling 🙂

    Hope you had a great day and that you are still in the great place that you were when you wrote your sappy post.

    Love, Barb
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Friday Fragments, Episode #75 =-.

Leave a Reply

