Friday Fragments 01/08/10

 Mommy's Idea

Well, it’s Friday, and there is no holiday today, so here are the Fragments from my mind.  If you would like to dump yours as well, head on over to Mrs.4444 for the rules and the really neat button, and go to town!

***I am so tired of hearing about Tiger Woods.  For one thing, while what he allegedly did is slimy and I certainly would not want to marry or date him, he isn’t any different than quite a few non-famous sleazebags-why is it more our business simply because he is famous?  For another thing, why did we decide that sports “stars” needed to be exempt from human emotions and failings?  Last, it annoys the shit out of me that sponsors are pulling their endorsements; does the fact that he is a philanderer (and see previous point) actually negate the fact that he is THE greatest golfer?  Um, no.  Stupid, yes.  Unfaithful and power-drunk, absolutely.  But a shitty player?  No.

***Due to the fact that several members of the class went crazy when they had a substitute this week, Hannah’s class no longer gets to perform anywhere.  Needless to say, she is really disappointed, and angry.  As am I-she has worked so hard in this class, and grown so much that it is a shame that she isn’t going to be able to showcase all she has learned.  It also annoys me that as a whole, these kids are vociferous about their desire to not be seen simply as those kids from the Alternative school, but this kind of behavior certainly does nothing to dispel the idea that they are, in fact, those kids.

***I am so ready for it to be Friday.  I know that I was glad to get back into the normal routine, and I am, but at the same time, it seems like it has been a hard week.  I have no doubt that next week will be better, now that we have all become acclimated.  Really, none of us wanted to get out of bed this morning, and when I asked Eli if he was going to shower, he thought about it for a second and said,”No, I think I’ll just stink today,” and rolled back over in bed.

***Speaking of funny things kids say, Owen was telling me what he had at lunch at daycare one day this week: chicken strings, smushed potatoes, and oranges.  And, he says, “It was dreezing (freezing) good!”  And speaking of freezing, on Wednesday it was really quite mild so he went to daycare wearing just a sweater over his shirt.  It was about 30 degrees colder when I went to pick him up, so yesterday morning he wore a shirt, TWO sweaters, his coat, and a pair of shorts under his jeans.  Apparently he does have a bit of his mommy in him; I don’t like to be cold either.

***I get that we are all responsible for taking care of ourselves; emotionally, physically, spiritually…I know that, I believe that I can be as happy or as miserable as I choose to be, and most of the time I work pretty consistently toward giving myself loving self-care.  Every once is awhile, though, I want to scream, because sometimes taking care of yourself and standing true to what you believe is really painful.

***Steve and I haven’t had our date night since before the holidays; I think we are going out to eat tonight before the AA meeting, and I am inordinately excited about it.  I have really missed that block of time just for the two of us, and I can tell that the relationship has suffered for the lack of it.  Not suffered in the sense that either of us is walking around pissed off or unhappy, but suffering in the sense of having gotten mired down in the day-to-day kids/jobs/families/dogs tedium.  It will be good to get back into this habit as well.

Okay, I feel like I just blew my nose really hard and cleaned out my sinuses-only this time, it was my head, and now my brain is free of the mental snot that builds up.  If you feel the need to do the same, join us all over at Half Past Kissin’ Time; we would love to have you!

32 thoughts on “Friday Fragments 01/08/10

  1. I completely agree about Tiger!! I am so tired of hearing about it because I just don’t care! He put golf on the map, his sponsors should just be happy that people know who they are! And, though I hate to admit it, I’m still a huge fan 🙂
    .-= AnnieD´s last blog ..Friday Fragments! =-.

    • @AnnieD, I personally hate sports as a rule, and golf? Bo-ring. But there is no doubt in my mind that he is a true prodigy in terms of excellence in the sport. I still think he is personally a scum-bag, but I just don’t get why his sponsors pulled out. His inability to keep his dick in his pants does not negate his ability to play golf!

    • @Ms. Moon, Sigh, isn’t that the most wonderful feeling? Other than that it is TOO cold for kissing in the car. And the last time we got carried away kissing in the car I got pregnant! On second thought…..tee hee.

  2. I’m still surprised (but not really) that the TW stuff is still even news. You’re right though, him being possible butthead does not negate what he accomplished as an athlete.

    I hope you and Steve have a great night out and are able to recharge.
    .-= Tara R.´s last blog ..WordPress.com: Now on HootSuite =-.

  3. I’m sick of hearing about Tiger Woods, but I have to disagree about the sponsors. They’re not paying him to play sports- they’re paying to use his image to represent their business. They no longer want that image. They build clauses into their contract with him to cover that, and he signs those contracts. For example, Accenture is known for risk management. They don’t want someone who can’t manage his public image (a form of risk management) as their public face. I think that’s their prerogative. He’s free to do what he wants- but because he entered into these contracts there are greater financial consequences for him than an average Joe.

    I’m so sorry about Hannah. I hate that she’s paying for the behavior of others.

    Freezing good- what a cutie!

    Taking care of myself is the hardest thing for me to do. I’m sorry it’s been tough for you lately.

    Yay for date night!!! Y’all have fun!

    • @Cat, See, in my opinion, Tiger IS living up to the typical sports-star image! 🙂 But I make no scret of the fact that I have disdain for a nation who places so much emphasis on sports anyway-and I know you disagree, ha ha. So we can cheerfully agree to disagree on this one.

  4. I am so tired of hearing about Tiger also. I get why the sponsors pulled out though. They aren’t doing it to punish Tiger but more so the fact that sponsors are only “sponsoring” someone to make money. When the public is this interested and outraged (again…what business is it of ours?) sponsors are going to pull their support if they think it will continue to make consumers buy their products. Personally, I would still buy a Nike product regardless of if Tiger is the face of Nike or not but there are many out there that won’t. Sponsorships are only there to help the product sell so if it doesn’t continue to sell as well they will replace the “face” of their products. Many people let the man’s personal affairs override his accomplishments in the golf field.

    This is crazy that they will punish Hannah’s whole class for the actions of some!!!! I can’t believe that they will punish those who are continuing to do what they are supposed to do and are doing well. Is there anything that the parents can do to petition this or something??? Are the other parents even involved (physically or emotionally)???

    • @Regina, Since I am a die-hard Adidas fan (and I have no idea who their spokespeople are) I wouldn’t buy Nike anyway, ha ha. But I get the marketing/image part of it, I really do; the thing is, he is acting EXACTLY like a sports icon does; if anything, this should HELP the sponsors!

      When I went in for Parent-Teacher conferences, and it was almost time for them to be over, there were two signatures on the paper in front of mine. Two other parents out of all the kids in all this teacher’s classes actually showed up-so I doubt that we could get together any kind of cohesive group in order to protest.

      • That’s crazy! Only two other parent’s bothered to show up? Gee…and they wonder why these kids acted out!!! I am sorry that this happened to your daughter. It really sucks when she’s working so hard on something only to have it ruined by other kids.

        Personally, I like ADIDAS more than Nike too. LOL

      • @Regina, Well, she does go to an alternative school, and most of those kids are not there by choice (though she is). about 90% of them are there because they have been kicked out of the regualr high school, or are on probation for a variety of reasons. So most of them are there in part because they don’t have parents who choose to be or are capable of being present in any meaningful way.

  5. I am so with you on the Tiger Woods thing. Why do I give a care about what he did or didn’t do? Yes, he portrayed being perfect…which is something no one on the face of this earth is….so why should anyone not involved be disappointed? It’s not as if they are married to him. Our culture is over-saturated with celebrities all cut from basically the same mold…but they are all human…and shouldn’t be treated as anything more.

    • @Kristen, I just think we as a society like to watch someone’s life derail so we can feel superior-especially when it is a celberity, because down deep, don’t we all have a little bit if smug satisfaction when someone screws up so terribly?

      • @kori, I think you are absolutely right. If for no other reason than we realize we aren’t the only ones that mess up! It’s only human…no matter how much you try not to!! It’s like so many people say…there are:

        *people you love to hate
        *train wrecks waiting to happen that you can’t take your eyes off of

        but deep down…whether you admit it or not…it does (not always & not everyone) give you a sense of satisfaction and superiority.

        It’s been great “chatting” with you!
        .-= Kristen´s last blog ..Burma Shave Signs =-.

  6. Totally sucks that Hannah’s class can’t perform anymore.

    And I love date night. Especially these days. It’s so nice to just hang out with this guy that I REALLY LIKE. Who also happens to be my husband. And I agree with Ms. Moon-a little smooching in the car is fun.

  7. So glad you and Steve are getting out. And crossing fingers that someday, I’ll have some Friday night dates 🙂

    BTW, someday, if you don’t mind, can I have your email address? Would love to talk to you about an issue I’ve been having, and I think you could help.

  8. Hope you got to enjoy dinner before your meeting. I am long overdue for a date night as well…

    Hope your weekend is good~ and what a bummer about Hannah’s school. My kids were horrible this morning about getting up for school…… it’s a daily occurence mostly
    .-= Juls´s last blog ..Fragmentin’ on a Friday! =-.

  9. I don’t understand why all of the kids had to pay for the behavior of a select group; that sucks. Do you think they’ll change their minds?

    I’m glad the kids are back in school (happy for you, anyway, haha. Going back kicked my asp!)
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Our Friday Night Excitement =-.

Leave a Reply

