Friday Fragments 01/22/10

 Mommy's Idea

 Welcome to Friday Fragments, hosted by the gorgeous-even-when-irrigating-her-nose-with-a-teapot Mrs.4444 over at Half Past Kissin’ Time!

***Beginning on Monday, my friend Matt over at The Playpen is kicking off a new series called time Out; he is featuring five different moms, one of whom is me.  He gave us each five questions, and he will feature an answer every day next week from all five of us.  It should be interesting, so don’t forget to take a gander at it.  He does have a kick-off post up today, so be sure to drop by and see the moms he has picked.

***I had to take Sam to his asthma doctor yesterday; he has been doing really well for a really long time, but then the last 2-3 months he has just had an awful time of it.  The doc did the skin-prick allergy tests (which didn’t show anything we didn’t already know) and also took blood to run some other tests, but the long and short of it is that even though he didn’t have any immediate complications from the swine flu, the problems with his asthma are directly tied to it.  Apparently it damages the lungs, and then before they can completely heal we head into cold season, and basically his defenses are just wiped out.  The doctor (who actually resembles an older Greg Kinnear) gave his two different inhalers, one to use morning and night and a different one to use as his rescue inhaler, plus a strong prescription allergy pill.  Sam slept better last night than he has in at least a month, and the doc confirmed my suspicion that Sam’s increased use of his small volume nebulizer and inhaler have made him antsy and unable to sleep well, and it just creates a vicious cycle.  Here’s to hoping that  within a few days he will be well on the mend.

***In the car this morning on the way to work, Owen was singing that Black-Eyed Peas song, “I Gotta Feeling,” which for some reason cracks me up.  he still doesn’t know his ABC’s in the correct order and often will insert a number or two in with the letters just to shake things up a bit, but he knows the whole chorus to some silly song.

***When we were in the old hometown to see my sister last weekend, three of the five of us sat down and picked out the house we are going to be renting at the beach in Oregon this summer.  We have it narrowed down to two different ones (our choices are actually a little limited simply because we need one with 6 bedrooms), so now we are just waiting to see which one it will be.  I am inordinately excited about something that isn’t even going to happen until July, but it is really neat to think about, to find different ways we can save the money to enable us to go, etc…My kids have never seen the ocean, so that itself is going to be a blast.  Thinking about and planning and saving for a vacation is just pretty damn cool, isn’t it?

***I am so glad it is Friday that I just almost can’t stand it.  Feels like it has been a really long week for a variety of reasons.  There are a few things I would like to get done over the weekend, but I am not going to say them out loud in case they don’t actually happen.  More than anything, I am looking forward to sleeping-but that is a common theme, isn’t it?

***Point of annoyance: Not making a decision IS, in fact, making a decision.  It drives me insane (er) when someone simply sits back and lets decisions be made for them, without taking part in any of it.  I think is has to do with not wanting to take responsibility, so that if things get all wonky later then someone else can take the blame, but damn, it is annoying.  Especially when it affects me and MY life.  Grrr.  The thing is, in a situation like that, the only thing you CAN do it let the other person continue to let things just…happen-because to push a decision either way is simply putting out a welcome mat for resentments and anger. 

For more Friday Fragments Fun, visit Mrs.4444.

34 thoughts on “Friday Fragments 01/22/10

  1. Hi you. I really needed to read that last one.

    And also, I keep pushing the “contact” button on top but it just brings me back to the post page.

    Wanted to email you. here’s my email: fullcircle(underscore)doula(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Thank you…

  2. Your summer trip to Oregon sounds glorious, and I hope you all have the best time.

    I hope Sam is feeling much better very soon. Asthma has to be a very scary condition for a kid, and a mom.

    I’m looking forward to reading your answers to Matt.

    Have a great weekend!
    .-= Tara R.´s last blog ..New Theme: monochrome =-.

    • @Tara R., I hope it is wonderful, too. Let’s see, only 7 more months to go. 🙂

      It is a little scary, but more so for sam than for me; he has a bad attack and he panics, understandably, which just makes it work. So far these new meds are already working better than the old ones, let’s hope they continue to!

  3. I’m glad Sam had a good night’s sleep. Here’s hoping he feels better soon! I would love to hear Owen sing the Black Eyed Peas song! It must be adorable!

    My coworker brought her 4 y.o. daughter to work this morning to say hi. I was wearing red shoes today, and my co-worker says, “ooh, look at her pretty red shoes!” Her daughter lit up and said, “That’s good!” haha.

  4. I’m SO with you on the weekend thing, though the past few weekends for me have been FILLED with work that I couldn’t finish during the week; I’ve never been so overwhelmed! Thankfully, I have some work this weekend, but nothing overwhelming, so I, too, plan to SLEEP IN!! yea!!

    The beach house plans sound wonderful–I’m happy for you all.

    Hope Sam finds some relief with the new meds.

    Thanks so much for stopping by now and then to check in–I miss you 🙂

  5. My kids just love that song i got a feeling..it’s my hubby’s ring tone on his phone
    hope your little one’s asthma gets better.
    Lsa

  6. you’re so right about the last part, the decisions. Hope it works out better than it has been. Bleck. Fun reading this post.
    You got me all excited about the beach house, and your kids have not been to the ocean, Holy Moly, that’s going to be AMAZING!
    Hope your weekend goes well and you get to those things you want to get to.
    And here’s to good and long sleeps!

  7. I hope Sam’s asthma is doing better.

    Owen cracks me up!

    I’m excited you get to take a vacation… it’s always nice to have something to look forward to!
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Good News =-.

Leave a Reply

