Weekend Recap

Time for another weekend recap, which I haven’t done in awhile.  I don’t know if that means I never DO anything on the weekends, or of I am just lazy come Monday mornings-maybe a little bit of both.

Saturday morning was spent just puttering around the house, catching up on a few blogs and putting my foot in my mouth when I commented on one in particular.  Seems that even though I am not new to the whole AA thing, even though I try to be pretty good about not letting my ego get in the way, there are times when everything I have learned about who I am and what I stand for goes flying out the window, boosted along by a swift kick from me.  I hate that I am not above feeling jealous on occasion, and I hate even more that I am still SO likely to speak before I think.  Which means I still have a lot of work to do, on myself.  I know that it is all part of the process, I really do, so I am trying to not beat myself up over it, but it is hard to do when I know better.  Still, I like to think that my almost immediately apology was accepted, and that the person to whom I was being snarky really did forgive me.

After I slunk around with my tail between my legs for awhile, the whole family minus Eli went to see a local production of Joseph and The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.  My friend P. had a small part in it, plus did the marketing/publicity for the play, so that is really why we went-and when we got there, we found out that we also knew several other people who were in it.  I had never seen it before, and I tell you, they were good.  Really good.  There were several parts that brought tears to my eyes (really, who can resist the sound of children’s voices lifted in song?  Not me, that is for sure!), others that made me laugh right out loud, and all in all, it was well worth the time.  Sam was a little starstruck, too, which I found very endearing.  He really wanted to go out and meet the cast and get autographs, and was thrilled to see P. play Potiphar’s wife; he said,”I didn’t know she was famous!”  Which, okay, she is very well-known in the area, but not because of the play, and it would be a stretch to call her famous.  Still, to his ten year old mind, that is pretty cool.  We have talked in the past about getting Sam involved in some of these local productions, but I really wanted him to see what it was about before making any phone calls.  Needless to say, I am on the hunt for a play that needs child actors.

After we got back from the play, Steve and I packed up and headed for an overnight in the next city.  We went to Lava Hot Springs, like we did last year, only this time we didn’t make the mistake of staying at a less-than-stellar bed and breakfast inn!  It was really a great time to go; it was cold and snowy, and there was something really neat about sitting in those lovely hot pools with the steam whirling around and snowflakes falling.  We both slept like the dead in a nice, firm king-sized bed, which was almost better than the other stuff we did in said bed, really (wink wink).  When we got up in the morning, we went to breakfast and actually ran into my sister at the restaurant, which was an unexpected and pleasant surprise.  From there, we hit Starbucks and Costco, then headed home feeling well-pleased and rested.  We were finally able to replace the camera, so there will soon be pictures, and if that doesn’t make you happy, well, I just don’t know what will.

Tonight, I have an appointment at Curves to talk about membership and go through the facility and what have you-because I am so tired of not being physically happy with myself.  I have gained weight over the last 6 months, and since I have basically been the same weight/size for the last ten years, this is kind of a big problem for me.  Far beyond the fact that my clothes don’t EVEN come close to fitting, far beyond the fact that it is hard to find clothes that DO fit, is the fact that I just don’t feel very good about myself and I need to be doing something about it.  I am tired of nearly crying every morning because nothing looks good, etc…I am not sure if I will join or not, depends on how much it is going to cost per month-but I promise you this is NOT going to turn into a health nutjob blog.  I like to eat too much for THAT to be the case!

It looks like the week is going to be busy with one thing and another, so I am really grateful for having had such a lovely weekend; it sure makes it easier to deal with life when I am well-rested and content!

7 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. I LOVE Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat! I practically have it memorized… It was my first exposure to Andrew Lloyed Weber, and it’s great.

    The lava springs sound SO nice, I would love sitting there in the hot while the show fell like that. Amazing.

    Also, I used to go to Curves and it’s great. It’s so nice to go work out and not think at all about people judging since it’s all women it’s totally comfortable and people of all ages and sizes. It’s kind of fun because if you go around the same time consistantly, you’ll start to make friends and chat while you’re working out. Good luck!
    .-= Rachael´s last blog ..LOST: I can’t wait! =-.

  2. Sounds like you had a good, calming weekend, so that’s good. Hope your appointment went well, I know that feeling of not fitting right in your own body and it sucks.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Goals =-.

  3. That’s awesome. I once spent an evening in a hot tub in Big Bear…same experience. Sitting outside with snow falling down at night…completely awesome. Of course, running back inside barefoot through a foot of snow wasn’t great. But still.

    Glad you had fun.
    .-= Matt´s last blog ..We’ll Have Halloween On Christmas =-.

Leave a Reply

