Friday, Finally!

Although it is Friday and my week has been fairly fragmented, I just don’t have it in me to do the Friday Fragments this week.  Still, don’t use that as an excuse to prevent you from heading over to Half Past Kissin’ Time to see what her other, more valiant participants have to say today!

Already I findmyself regretful of having told Sam about his dad.  They emailed each other over the weekendlast weekend, and on into the week, but now Sam hasn’t heard from him in three days.  I tried to explain to Sam that not everyone obsessively checks their email and replies immediately, but he is still disappointed.  Of course, I think that if his dad is sincere about wanting to be in his life and cares as much as he says he does, he would be waiting with baited breath for an email from him, and wouldn’t hesitate to reply.  Or now that he HAS Sam’s email address, he shouldn’t even be waiting to hear from him first.  I tell Sam that maybe he has gone somewhere where he doesn’t have easy access to the computer or Internet (where might that be, under the ocean somewhere?);I can tell he wants to believe me but doesn’t, not really.  And I don’t know that he should, either.  I know it is still early in the game to completely give up, but.  I hate that Sam is so vulnerable, and I hate that I can’t make his dad be any different than he is.

While we are on the subject of Sam, I took him back to the asthma doctor yesterday for a follow-up visit.  The good news is that his lung function has increased considerably in the last three weeks, which is excellent.  He has been feeling a lot better, in fact began to feel appreciably better within a few days of starting the new treatment regimen, but oh, how lovely to have proof that he is actually getting better, not just feeling better.  The downside is that he has to start getting allergy shots beginning next Thursday.  Thankfully, his triggers are not nearly as bad as when he had to have the shots before; he will only have to have one shot.  However, the time involved makes it hard-he has to go two times a week for ten week, then once a week thereafter for some time-and that is going to be difficult in terms of my job.  Still, I guess it will HAVE to be managed, right?  All in all, though, I am pleased; it is never fun to see your child in such dire straits, and the fact that he is already markedly improved makes me hopeful that he will soon be back to his former self.

Just finishing up with Week Two of Curves; I haven’t noticed any difference at all in how I feel physically, and I don’t think I have lost any weight (though they only weigh/measure once a month), but the funny thing is that I am not at all discouraged.  I mean, I am smart enough to know that all of this is going to take time, but even knowing that I think it is easy to start slacking if results are not seen right away.  Talk about instant-gratitude mindset!  But that hasn’t happened yet, and I am glad.  Mostly I just feel like I am just beginning-I am expecting nothing at all this first month other than getting onto a normal routine and learning the machines well.  That’s it.  The rest will come, and I just feel remarkable unworried about it.  Hm-this is a new feeling for me, the sitting back and trusting that as long as I keep doing what I am doing, the results will eventually show up.  Kind of like staying sober, actually.

In other news, I got Hannah and Eli both signed up to take Driver’s Ed.  The class starts on March 1st at (gulp) 6:45 am.  The idea of either of them learning to drive terrifies me, but it has to be done.   I wasn’t prepared for all of the paperwork involved in getting their learner’s permits, though.  Birth certificates and social security cards, of course, but I also need to provide a clear chain explaining why my last name is different from theirs.  Which meant getting certified copies of my Divorce Decree from their dad AND my marriage license for my 2nd husband (I just kept his name to spite him after the divorce).  They form they have you fill out requests a date, right?  But holy god, my divorce from their dad was over 16 years ago; who the hell knows what the date was?  What a mess.  Still, I think we have everything we need, and within the year both kids will be driving.  Yikes.

Otherwise, not much else going on, at least not things I can really write about here.  I am still battling this terrible cough, so am awfully tired-but it is the Friday before a three day weekend, so with hope I will have time to rest.  The big Valentine’s Day is coming up, but we don’t have any plans that I know of.  And I will try not to be hurt, because the proof is in the day to day stuff, but I probably will be a little hurt anyway.  *shrugs*  It is what it is.  With hope, though, the long weekend will be a happy and restful one, regardless of V-Day.  And I hope yours is, too.

8 thoughts on “Friday, Finally!

  1. Sounds like you have a good attitude towards the working out thing. Sorry to hear about Sam’s father situation, but at least he’s doing better physically.

    Those forms sound like a mess! I’m grateful Boy and I have the same last name (my maiden name). Even if I someday get remarried, I’m never changing my name again. It’s not worth the hassle. Hopefully you can get the forms done and not have to worry about it again.

  2. Yeah! The comment thingy is fixed! Now I can spout all my gems of wisdom — except I don’t really have any at this time.

    I hope that there’s a good reason for the sudden lull in communication between Sam and his dad. It must be anguish for you to have to watch him go through this process.

  3. Aye aye aye. I’d tell my kids to ride their bikes before I’d get all that paperwork together.

    Jack is 12. I’d better start gathering documents now. Cause that’s how long it will take me to get that shit together

  4. Hi Kori! Just wanted to stop by and say I’m still out here even though I haven’t been by in weeks. I’ve been ridiculously busy with work, and just now caught up on the last month of your posts. I do think about you often.

    I hope Sam’s dad can get his shit together. I can only imagine how heartbreaking it is to see Sam so hurt.

    Happy Valentine’s Day! I love you!

  5. I wish it was easier to change people and make them stop doing hurtful things. I’m sorry that can’t be done.

    I started running again two weeks ago and I’ve gained two pounds. I’ll try to not get discouraged either.

Leave a Reply

