I said I needed a break but that isn't what I had in mind

God has a really wicked sense of humor, you know?  I had been feeling, as you know, pretty overwhelmed and beaten down on Monday, so as if in answer to an unspoken prayer, I was able to have the entire day yesterday at home.  Of course, that respite was not without its problems in the form of a massive stomach and butt flu bug which swept through the house on Monday night and lingering until last night.  If you have ever had to deal with three kids plus yourself all suffering from vomiting and diarrhea with only one bathroom, you can imagine the fun.  Still-in between runs to the bathroom, we all rested and just sort of hung out together, and it wasn’t all bad.  By yesterday evening everyone was for the most part recovered-I called Steve at work and begged him to please come get me before going to the grocery store so I could at least get out of the house for a few minutes, and by that time both Owen and Sam were getting a little antsy, too, from being basically bed-and-couch-ridden. Still, we were all, Hannah included (even though she slept on and off most of the day), in bed by nine.  In fact, I was planning on reading in bed for a little while and don’t think I made it through a page.  So-I am feeling better, the ominous rumbling in my stomach quieted, having gotten a full eight hours sleep-almost worth feeling like crap most of the day yesterday.

Sam and I were able to have a couple of good talks about the ongoing situation with his dad; I don’t know, really, how much it helped, as it is too soon to tell, and I imagine, too, that there will be a lot of reiteration of the same thing in the next while.  I wish I could just snap my fingers and make it all go away for the little guy, but obviously, I can’t do that.  He was finally able to articulate in an email to his dad how he has been feeling, which is a good thing in general.  His dad’s reaction was delayed by several days (which pisses me off, actually, but whatever, I can’t control that), and when it came, was a very dramatic declaration of “I will NEVER hurt you again, I am SO sorry!!” which seems good on the surface but really, didn’t address any of hte specific issues Sam brought up to him.  More of a sweeping it all under the rug with a declaration of remorse and a promise that he really can’t keep-who of us, as parents, can promise to never hurt our kids?  I don’t know.  Anyway, I should be grateful that he is at least communicating, There is just so much that needs to be resolved in order for Sam to be okay that it sometimes seems overwhelming.  And, too, the fact that I really have no control over the situation in terms of how they relate-that is a hard one.  Please keep the whole damn drama in your thoughts/prayers, would you?

In other news, well, there isn’t really any.  Although not only did we get a new camera, Steve also found a new LCD thingy for the old one and was able to fix it; have I ever mentioned that he is my hero?  There were photos on the old one from Halloween, even, so perhaps a photo post is in order.  I haven’t done one of those in awhile, at least since the old camera broke.  Sam has been busy practicing for the solo part in their upcoming Patriotic Concert, Eli spends more time in his room than anywhere with the family, you know, the usual stuff.  Still, in general I feel much better than I did when I last posted, so that itself is something to be grateful for.

9 thoughts on “I said I needed a break but that isn't what I had in mind

  1. And sometimes God says, “Purge!” And then he says, “Rest!”
    Or something like that.
    Sometimes after an illness like that when you begin to feel yourself again, don’t you feel a little bit reborn?
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..Comfort =-.

  2. Vomiting and diarrhea pretty much suck.

    I’m glad Sam can express himself. His ability to do that will protect him even if his father acts like a dud.

    Will still send prayers 🙂

  3. I am glad that you are so open and able to talk to Sam about what is going on with his “dad” right now. I hope that when that time comes for me and my daughter, I can be there for her and help her through the feelings that she is going to have about her situation.
    .-= Danielle´s last blog ..Her calling???? =-.

  4. Yay for the camera! Sorry about the illness, that stinks… probably literally.

    I’m with Michelle- I think that being able to send that e-mail was probably therapeutic for Sam. I just hope it won’t be negated by his father’s reactions.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..The Cookie Monster =-.

  5. Yeah, way too many people with the sick all at once with ONE bathroom. I’m glad you guys are starting to feel better.

    And also…you comment…does this mean that I might get to meet you? Since you’re so close to the conference? Just checking.
    .-= Heather of the EO´s last blog ..7 Quick-ish Takes =-.

Leave a Reply

