Focus

So for those of you who didn’t get my “Isn’t my son the best?” email yesterday, look over to the right and you will see my new RedSparks ad,  featuring none other than my Owen.  This is the “big secret” we have been working on, which isn’t really much of a secret but still.  Matt keeps telling me thank you for the plug, but really, it is I who needs to thank him.  He and his lovely wife  Aline were willing to send us an outfit for Owen from their online boutique, trusting that I would in turn provide them with at least one usable picture to use for their site.  Then, he very patiently walked me through posting an ad and making sure it linked to the right place and was in line with the other ads I have in my sidebar, plus walked me  through updating my plugins and whatnot-so really, I am the one who needs to thank both Matt and Aline, for being willing to share their considerable talents with me.  And of course for the opportunity to have Owen in an ad, because as Aunt Becky would say, “Obviously.”  If any of you get the chance, click on the ad and it will take you to RedSparks, where they just happen to be having a killer Spring Sale.

The above picture is thanks to Mr. Lady, who provided the space for me to go in and edit my own pictures and be able to download them to my blog; she has helped me so much, not just recently but very nearly since the beginning, and I am so lucky to be able to call her a friend.

Speaking of friends, my friend J. came to visit while I was at lunch yesterday; we haven’t really seen each other in too long, so it was so nice to just be able to visit and catch up.  She invited us to come for Easter dinner, but since they are going to the home of the “I Cook Better Than You” woman, I opted for a simple,”No thank you” and left it at that.  She also brought a registration form for an 11th Step Prayer Retreat, and I really, really would like to go.  It is held here, which is actually one of my favorite places in the world.  I used to go to a Monday AA meeting there when I lived much closer, and even just driving onto the property gave me a feeling of peace.  However, I am not sure if I will be able to afford to go, so I am simply letting the idea rest on my shoulders, and perhaps something will arise that will allow me to go.  I hope.

So much going on, so little going on, my life a whirlwind of different things on the surface and underneath, and this post is nothing at all what I want to talk about but has bits and pieces in it of everything I want to talk about.  I want to talk about friendships good and bad and necessary and not, I want to talk about what God means to me and why I need this retreat, I want to talk about the way the sun and wind felt on my face when I was out taking pictures of Owen on Sunday.  I want to talk about the way I wake up in stark terror because my teens are going to be driving, and very soon they will have lives of their own, and I want to talk about how I think they are going to do okay…but all of this is for another day, because I don’t have the words yet.

Soon.

12 thoughts on “Focus

  1. I think it’s great that me “helping” you post an ad that links to our site is considered doing you a favor. Talk about a win win!

    Thanks for all your hard work, Kori. I think the photos came out great. Lets do it again soon!
    .-= Matt´s last blog ..I Dig Music =-.

  2. I wonder if there is financial help available for those who wish to attend the prayer retreat, but can’t really afford to go. A lot of times the churches involved have set up some sort of fund to help. 🙂

  3. Owen’s a natural!! Seriously. Doesn’t Zoolander have an academy for really really good looking people or something like like? He’d be a shoo-in.

    The “no thanks” was a good move. Life’s too short to endure people who annoy you.

  4. What a handsome boy! He does indeed make an impressive model. You might have a future star on your hands.

    Someone else said it above, Life’s too short to waste it with people that are annoying. No reason to inflict that upon yourself. Good for standing up!

    I so hope you get to go to your retreat. Soul food is part of the nutrition tree.
    .-= Catootes´s last blog ..bring on some smiling tiki’s =-.

Leave a Reply

