Friday Fragments 04/02/10

 Mommy's Idea

As always, Friday Fragments is hosted by Mrs.4444 over at Half Past Kissin’ Time.  It is the chance to write down those little bits and pieces of things that aren’t quite enough to be a post on their own, and is usually lots of fun.

***We had a little lunch at work yesterday for the tenth anniversary of my boss owning the agency.  His wife was there, too, and as we were sitting in the back chatting over luch, she casually mentioned our boss re-hiring an employee.  I didn’t like this guy the first time he worked there, for lots of reasons (some of them even valid)(he was the kind of man who refers to spending time with his kids as babysitting), so I immediately felt my blood pressure raise about 20 points and my heart start racing…until she laughed and I realized it was April Fool’s Day. 

***I keep reading about spring arriving in all part of the country and makes me crazy jealous; we have had temps in the 30’s and fierce winds all week.  In fact, there is even snow in the forecast for tonight.

***Sam and I went to the Maundy Thursday service at the Episcopal Church last night.  I also like to refer to it as “The Foot Washing Service,” actually, because there is part of it where the people are offered the opportunity to come wash one another’s feet, and every year there is this couple that I love to see take part in this.  Last year, he washed hers, and he cradled her feet with so much love that it brought tears to my eyes.  This year, it worked out that she was the one washing his, and while she was kneeling there in front of him he couldn’t keep his eyes off of her, and laid his hands on her head and closed his eyes.  It wasn’t sexual at all, but still so intimate an act that it seemed almost wrong to be watching it.  I love to watch this couple whenever we go the any kind of church function, because they have been together for at least 30 years and STILL love each other like that. 

***In case you were wondering, I did not participate in this ritual.  Sam did, with our friend J. the one to wash his feet, but I had been working all day and my feet were sweaty and I didn’t want to take my shoes off for fear they would stink.  And there you have, in a nutshell, why I find it so hard to fully give myself over to my feelings of love and hope and peace when I go to this church-fear of my metaphorical shoes metaphorically stinking.

***No shenanigans from Backyard Hoebag this week, mainly because she hasn’t been home much.  I think she was gone most if not all of the weekend, and left her dogs locked up in the house-I can’t imagine the mess that was waiting for her when she finally came back.  Some lady was walking past her house on Sunday when I was sitting out on the back steps having a smoke and said, in this very accusatory tone,”Do you know where the person who lives in this house is?  Because those dogs need taken care of!” as if I had something personally to do with her having left them in the house.

***Am I the ONLY person in the world who doesn’t like the Peeps?  I have a hard time eating something that has the same name as what I used to call my daughter’s private parts when she was a baby.  Really.

***Easter.  I love Easter.  Love to get the baskets for the kids, love the pastel colors, love the whole egg-dying thing.  However, guess who hasn’t done ANY of that yet?  I will be the one at the grocery store at 10:00 on Saturday night, scrounging through the remnants of Easter items left for something even remotely good.  Thankfully, this isn’t the first time-my kids are starting to LIKE that cheap chocolate that tastes faintly of wax.

Please visit some of Mrs.4444’s other Friday Fragments today, too.  Spread the love, folks, spread the love.

19 thoughts on “Friday Fragments 04/02/10

    • I don’t know, you haven’t seen them; they are NOT a pretty sight, I promise you. But they would look good with some hooker red polish, no?

  1. You don’t like Peeps! Kori! I’m too stunned about this revelation to comment on anything else in this post. I’m just going to click on previous posts for pictures of Owen — his cute little face always takes me to a happy place.
    .-= Dingo´s last blog ..Thanks for Nuttin’ =-.

  2. You crack me up, Kori! Hahaha. Thanks for the laugh. By the way, I don’t like Peeps either. Never have.
    I used to go a church where they had the foot washing. It was fascinating to watch people interacting over something so symbolic. It seemed as though they were blessing each other and mending broken friendships. Thanks for reminding me of that. Happy Good Friday to you. Thanks for your well wishes.

    • I don’t even “go” to this church in the sense of being a car-carrying Epsicopalian, but I love the Holy Week services; there is just something both humbling AND awe-inspiring about the message to love as we have been loved, you know?

  3. This will be the first year that my daughter will get the whole Easter Bunny thing, so I am so excited that I bought all off the stuff a week ago. I am sure that next year I will be doing the Sat night deal.
    Have a good weekend!
    .-= Danielle´s last blog ..Virgo, the Fallen Angel =-.

  4. I am giving my kids spare change in their eggs this year, because I will eat all of their candy and it is not a pretty sight.

    And, I’m lazy.

    I totally understand everything you said re: feet washing. I have never, ever, let go for fear of offending others. Such pride.
    .-= Nancy C´s last blog ..Such a Good Friday. =-.

  5. Awww! No spring weather yet? That is a BUMMER!

    My husband had his feet washed last night, he will be Catholic as of tomorrow evening, and he really has been enjoying this weeks Masses.

    Happy Easter, Kori!

  6. I am not a fan of Peeps either so you can count on me if you ever decide to protest against them. I am also sick of hearing about Spring everywhere but here. We are suppose to wake up to 2 inches of snow tomorrow morning. Yucky. And not a nice April Fool’s joke but pretty funny.
    .-= Mr. Shife´s last blog ..Countdown to 40 – Day 2 =-.

  7. I wanted to comment on each section of your post, but now I can’t remember a thing – hold on a sec. Let me run up to the top of the page and see what I’ve forgotten.

    Spring has already left us – It’s been in the mid 80’s the past few days. Spring lasts about 10 days and I mourn it’s passing every year.

    I have never eaten a peep and have never had the desire. I have three dozen eggs and still haven’t found a dye that I want to use. I love dying eggs, too – I just want them to be fabulous. Good thing I don’t have kids, I’d have to tell them that the Easter Bunny is coming on Wednesday. 🙂

    Kristin – The Goat
    .-= Kristin´s last blog ..Friday Fragments =-.

  8. If you can’t get the cops after Backyard Ho for being a backyard ho, maybe you can call Animal Control on her. They take pet neglect very seriously.

    I can’t stand Peeps… sugar coated marshmallows? I can just hear my hips expanding.
    .-= Tara R.´s last blog ..DNS Editing Deployed =-.

  9. You aren’t alone. Peeps gross me out. I have no interest in ever eating them.

    And the foot washing? We have that at our church, and as a member of our choir, we have to be at the Maundy Thursday service and foot washing. It’s just not my cup of tea regardless.

    Happy Easter!
    .-= Michelle´s last blog ..Happy Easter! =-.

Leave a Reply

