Friday Fragments-on a Lighter Note

 Mommy's Idea

It’s Friday, time to gather all those scattered thoughts and little bits of things to put them into a post-kind of like making a delightful hash, only with words instead of corned beef and leftovers.  For more information, head over to Mrs.4444’s and join the party!

***My Eli turned 16 yesterday!  I can’ hardly believe this much time has gone by since he was a sweet fat little baby, a charming little boy with a big head and pudgy fingers.  Now, at 16, he is no longer pudgy at all, but is instead long (almost 6 ft.) and lean.  He finally grew into his head, to, which whew!  Actually, I just wrote that for his benefit; he got really rather angry with me last year for having lied to him his whole life about whether or not he had a big head-I always told him no, you see.  I felt bad for him because between the tooth problem and various other things, his family party with cake and his presents was put off until the weekend and his actual birthday, well, it was basically just another day, so I am letting him stay home from school today.  I can totally see the appeal of that, and wish my boss would let ME stay home on MY birthday in a couple of weeks!

***Backyard Hoebag?  Gone.  I brought Eli home on Wednesday during my lunch hour to see piles of furniture and bikes and even an overflowing hamper of dirty clothing sitting outside by the dumpster, and our landlord was just beginning to load it all onto a trailer.  Yesterday morning there was a “For Rent” sign up as well.  It looks like she just took off without notice, because really, I can see leaving the couch and bed and whatever if you don’t have time to organize a move or whatever, but who leaves their CLOTHES behind?  I can’t imagine the mess the landlord had to walk into, either, with her dogs having been locked up all that one weekend.  I don’t know what her story is, nor do I particularly care, but I am glad she is gone.  In the past when people have moved out of the houses around us,  there has been a frisson of worry about who might be moving in, but not this time.  Really, nearly anyone has to be better than Hoebag.

***Steve got a promotion at work and is now the Service Manager instead of the Service Advisor.  He is just such a guy (which is a  good thing), he is acting all cool and casual about it, saying “Oh, it isn’t that big of a deal, it’s basically the same thing I am doing now, just more paperwork and a little bit more money,” and that may well be true but I am happy for him.  If nothing else it will look good on his resume, right?

***Only one more week of taking Hannah and Eli to school at 6:45 for Driver’s Ed.  They still have to finish up their driving time, but that is on Mondays and Fridays respectively, and in the afternoons or evenings.  I am so relieved; it means in addition to sleeping a little later, I can also start working out in the mornings again, and that will be so nice.  The idea of having to take them out to practice now is a bit alarming for me, but still, I am glad.  The hope is that Hannah will be able to pass her driving test shortly after school gets out, which would make the summer SO much easier in terms of getting kids where they need to be while I am working.

***We have only three more weeks of the twice-weekly allergy shots for Sam.  He then goes to weekly ones, which is just SO much better for everyone involved!

***It might hit 60 degrees over the weekend, and if there is no wind, I will be the happiest person ever.  We need to start getting outside more, and that isn’t so fun to do when it is 40 degrees with winds up to 35 MPH.  I am SO ready for this crap to be OVER with-everything looks and feels better in the spring, you know?

For more Friday Fragment Fun, you can join in over at Half Past Kissin’ Time, where Mrs.4444 plays the loveliest hostess ever.

16 thoughts on “Friday Fragments-on a Lighter Note

  1. I’m not sure why, but this post made me smile. I guess it doesn’t matter why, now does it… just a good thing?!

    Yeah for Steve.

    And holy crap, driving with a teenager will age you a decade. If you have two of them I’m not sure if it doubles or cubes the aging — either way you may be in trouble:) My 15 year old scares the shit out of me every time she drives. I now, in all seriousness, know what it is like to see my life flash before my eyes.
    .-= Jill´s last blog ..Focus on what you have 4/3/10 =-.

  2. And I’m smiling too. It’s good when there are good things to report. And happy birthday to that Eli boy.
    As to driving around with teenagers who are learning the art- well. I am SO damn glad I never have to do that again. It’s definitely part of the graying of the hair process. I wish you grace and luck and a sweet place of calm and tranquility to go to in your mind.
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..And Then =-.

  3. It’s so funny to read your blog and learn things I didn’t already know 🙂 Happy Birthday to Eli and happy weekend to you, too…rest.

  4. WooHoo! (haha!!! I first typed WooHO! LOL Too funny.) Anyway, glad you had lots of good stuff to celebrate last week! Congrats to Steve! Happy Belated, Eli! Good riddance, Backyard Ho!

    Two weeks, huh? My birthday is in a couple of weeks, too! 26th 🙂
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Rants and Raves Wednesday =-.

Leave a Reply

