Friday Fragments

 Mommy's Idea

***I got the new John Irving book, Last Night At Twisted River, at the library last week, and even though he is definitely on my list of Top Five Favorite Authors, I am not loving this book.  I have found with his books that they go in spurts-I either absolutely love them, buy a copy and place it on my bookshelf in a place of some prominence, or think “Why the hell did I waste my time reading that one?”  So far, this one will go in the latter category.  Very disappointing.

***Anyone besides me notice that dogs are just plain strange?  Every morning when I let Hallie and Maggie out, they are so excited to walk the whole yard with their noses to the ground, as if this is the first time they have ever been out there, like it’s an entirely new adventure for them.  It is especially funny to watch the Basset-because to her, every smell is like crack to her, and she races around the yard sniffing like mad, tripping over her ears every other step.

***After a very long five years on probation for his last DUI, Steve is finally free!  There have been a lot of ups and downs during the course of the last five years, but he very proudly got his new, unrestricted license on Tuesday.  He has going on 11 months sober now, and is actually going to meetings and working a program (hence the 11 months; he always tried to white-knuckle it before, and those of us who are alkies know how well that works out for people like us!), and let me tell you, the difference in him is simply amazing.  It’s almost like falling in love all over again with an entirely new person.

***My friend J. brought over the pamphlet for Sam to look at in order to choose the camp session he would like to go to this summer (it is an Episcopal church camp, with several different sessions available).  It is really quite expensive, or at least seems like it to me, but J. is going to help defray the cost in order to make sure he gets to go.  What an adventure for the little guy-I am so excited for him!  The location is out of this world (go here to check it out), and I think he is going to get a lot out of it.

***Less exciting and certainly not surprising is that his dad has slowly stopped emailing and his wife has been doing it instead.  Sam asked the wife when his dad was going to start emailing again, and her reply was that she doesn’t know, because he thinks it is way too impersonal and he would really just rather talk on the phone.  She said a few other things, the intention being to try to make Sam and I both feel guilty and manipulate him/me into allowing phone calls before Sam is ready.  I emailed her back and let her know that while I appreciate the fact that email is impersonal, part of the reason for me using email as a starting point was to give him the opportunity to get to know Sam again and to prove to Sam that he is, in fact, willing to do what it takes to be able to earn the right to be part of his life before exposing Sam to even more emotional pain.  And the fact that he emailed less than a month and then turned the job over to his wife is a pretty strong indicator that he isn’t, in fact, willing to do what it takes.  Last, but certainly not least, I told her that it is not HER job to make sure Sam’s dad has a relationship with him, and Sam needs to hear from HIM a lot more than he needs to hear from HER.  I am pissed, but-what do you do?

***It is finally getting warm here, with the high this weekend supposedly going to be in the low 70’s.  Owen and Sam both have already begun wearing shorts in anticipation of it.  Last night when Owen got ready for bed, his knees were absolutely BLACK from the dirt in which he had been playing; no more every-other-night-baths for the next 5 months!

Now that you have cluttered up your mind with MY fragments, why not head over to see Mrs.4444 at Half Past Kissin’ Time for more?

13 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. Can’t talk now, but I made you a button (I hope you don’t mind!!) It’s not necessary at all, but I thought it would be fun. I’ll send it to you this weekend if you want it. Have a great day.

  2. I absolutely love Fridays alone for your fragments. They are always so real, so to the point, and most importantly, they always tell such GOOD things! Congrats to Steve, that is awesome! On the Sam note, I am so bumemd for him about his dad.

  3. The camp looks amazing, and with a 75-year anniversary, I’m sure it will be especially fun this summer. I’m really glad Sam will be able to go; it will take his mind off of his deadbeat dad. (You’re an awesome Mom.)

    Congrats to Steve! I’m very happy for you both.

    Hey, Idaho is near Wyoming, isn’t it? Watch out for those earthquakes, okay?!
    .-= Mrs4444´s last blog ..Friday Fragments: Episode #90 =-.

  4. Congratulations to Steve! That is so awesome for him!

    Animals ARE funny. However, mine is currently driving me insane. She has total OCD about the litter box. Even when it’s freshly cleaned she’ll dig around for seriously FIVE MINUTES. I don’t know what to do about it!
    .-= Julie´s last blog ..Here’s a shocker… =-.

  5. Congrats Steve!!! That’s so awesome!

    My dog runs in circles anytime he hears the word outside. Then he runs back and forth across the yard for a solid 20 minutes. If I had his energy, I’d be thin as a rail.

    Sorry about Sam’s dad… I hate that he keeps coming back and messing with his head. Maybe his wife is trying to help, but it just doesn’t seem that helpful.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..A Loss =-.

  6. I did not know where else to leave a response to the comment you left on my post “decision making 101” so im leaving it here…after re reading my post i realized I might have sounded a bit ignorant saying alcoholism is a LEARNED behavior, i felt the need to correct myself, because i know this hits close to home for you as it does for myself…my father was and IS an alcholic, and I should have described it as something developed. I understand and know alcoholism should not be taken lightly and it is something that is a constant struggle to change. thanks for pointing that out, and thank you for the advice!
    .-= sarah´s last blog ..Decision making 101 =-.

Leave a Reply

