Friday Fragments

Mommy's Idea

The Friday Fragments brain dump.  Brought to you by Mrs.4444 at Half Past Kissin’ time.

***My blog got hacked (again), and none of my posts are showing up in anyone’s readers (again).  This is a terrible thing to happen to someone like me, because I have zero traffic and of course I worry that all of a sudden people have decided I suck after all.  I don’t have any idea why anyone would continually hack into my blog; it isn’t as if I am a popular one.  Worst, I have two people WAY more talented than me trying to fix it, and so far, no luck.  So to save my fragile psyche, would some of you, you know, come directly to my blog occasionally to let me know I am not just writing into the void?

***I think it is just because she was so slender to start with, but man, Hannah REALLY looks pregnant these days, alarmingly so.  If she already looks huge, I can’t even begin to imagine how she is going to look in another couple of months.

***Speaking of Hannah being pregnant, she has already been making arrangements and talking to people at school and all on her own decided she is going to summer school and will take an online course when she is home with the baby so as to stay caught up.  If all goes well, not only is she going to graduate, she might even be on track to graduate early.  She has also had to deal with several billing issues for the lab work, and handled them well.  She talked to a counselor yesterday and will meet up with her again in a couple of weeks, and after that we will have some resources for counseling to help her deal with some underlying issues; maybe she is going to be all right after all.

***Eli now has his official Learner’s Permit in hand, so he has been shuttling me around everywhere.  Yesterday I forgot my coffee cup so we had to go back to the house to get it (uh, yeah.  I am SO not going in to work without my own travel mug of my own brew, seeing how I am such a coffee snob and all), so I ended up being late for work-he has a hard time getting up to speed, you see.  But he is actually doing very well, and he had to parallel park in front of the house last night and totally nailed it the first time.  Which is more than I can say; I will actually park a block away and walk somewhere to avoid it.

***Speaking of walking, our morning walks have been curtailed abruptly due to weather.  Now, I will walk in a light rain, and I will walk when it is bitterly cold, and even when there is snow on the ground.  However, when the wind id blowing 35 miles an hour and it is 35 degrees and a rain and snow mix, um, no thanks.  I am not that dedicated to anything.  Hopefully it will start to abate so we can start up again; I have been enjoying those mornings with just Hannah, Eli and the dogs.

***It should be no surprise to anyone that Sam’s dad has quit emailing Sam entirely.  Last week (or a little longer), he had his WIFE tell Sam that he thought email was too impersonal and tried to manipulate Sam and I both into letting him call him instead, which clearly didn’t work.  Sam wasn’t ready, and frankly neither was I; it didn’t take very long for his dad to have his wife email instead, maybe two weeks? and while it was okay at first because his dad is on the road for work, it soon became clear that he had no intention of making any real effort.  And that was the deal-he was going to email Sam every time Sam emailed him, he was going to accept that Sam has some really intense feelings of anger and abandonment toward him, and he said he could and would deal with that.  The first time Sam questioned his trustworthiness was the last time he emailed.  Needless to say, Sam is broken hearted all over again.

***In AA, we are taught to pray for those with whom we are angry or resentful-not to help them, mind you, but to free ourselves from those feelings.  And it really does work, I can attest to that.  I told Sam about that last night and asked if he thought maybe we should pray for his dad, and he looked at me as if I had grown a third eye. 

***Owen grew almost three inches since January.  Seeing someone day to day it is hard to notice the changes, but suddenly a few pairs of his pants were getting to be high-waters and he just looked long and lean.  Steve measured him against the wall (yes, we actually mark the wall with him and Sam’s name when we do that; are we geeks or what?) and sure enough, a huge growth spurt.  Thankfully we have a bunch of jeans that are a size 4 that have been just a tad too long, but we are really going to have to do something about those “belly shirts.”

***Today will mark day two of taking my little blue pill; I felt really tired yesterday, but I am not sure if it was the pill or simply not sleeping as well as usual.  I will take it again this morning and see what it does, and maybe I will have to start taking it at night.  Whatever; at this point, I am just about desperate so what TIME I have to take it surely isn’t going to matter.  Isn’t it funny, though, how just knowing that I have taken action and done something to help makes a huge difference? 

***I went with my mom, my grandma, and one of my sisters to see a small production of “Hello, Dolly” last Saturday night.  I hadn’t wanted to go and tried to manufacture all these reasons why I couldn’t but of course that was just me being weird.  It was a good producti0n; there were two men who totally MADE the show, and at several points my sister and I were both laughing so hard that we were crying.  Unfortunately, no one else in the theater thought it was quite as funny, and of course we were sitting right in the middle of the playhouse so everyone could see us, but we decided that we just have a better sense of humor than most.

All right, if I happen to have had anyone stop by (because of the blog issues, not because I have no readers, right?  RIGHT?), you can go back and read the prior two posts I wrote, and THEN go check out the Friday Fragments over at Mrs.4444’s place.  Play along-it’s rather fun!

25 thoughts on “Friday Fragments

  1. This came up in my reader if that’s any consolation!

    So glad to hear Hannah’s being so proactive. Sounds like she’s doing everything she can.

    I can’t parallel park. Living in the south, I’ve never really had to. It’s hard.

    Poor Sam.

    The play sounds fun- laugh like no one’s watching!
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments! =-.

  2. You are so funny, Kori. But I agree that praying for someone who annoys you, helps lessen the feelings of annoyance toward them.

    Of course Hannah will be okay. She has you for a mother after all.

    Have a good weekend!
    .-= Angie Muresan´s last blog ..Happy Weekend! =-.

  3. I got this post in my reader… apparently I’ve missed some news. Best wishes to Hannah. I think it’s great she is making plans to continue with her schooling. Good luck to her during her pregnancy.
    .-= Tara R.´s last blog ..Freakishly calm =-.

  4. Yep. You’re back in the reader. I wanted to say- don’t buy anything baby or maternity that you don’t have to- people are ALWAYS passing things on. You know that. And wouldn’t it be cool to have a virtual shower for Hannah? She could register at Target and we could all go and look her up online and send her things that way.
    Just a thought, dear.
    Sorry about Sam’s dad. What a dick wad. Sorry if that’s too profane. I could have used worse. I wanted to.
    Honey- you’re going through some really hard stuff so you need to just do whatever you can to take care of yourself. Walks when you can, the little blue pill, rest, eat well, etc. The little things you CAN control. I’m serious.
    They will make a difference.
    Have a fine weekend, okay?
    .-= Ms. Moon´s last blog ..Just A Song =-.

  5. Hey lady! I’m a new-ish FriFragger and I feel like I should get to know you better before saying too much. I mean, there’s a lot of close-to-home stuff in this post! So I’ll just say hang in there.

    *hugs*

  6. Came here to thank you for coming by my blog and commenting and totally enjoyed your post even though I have no idea who any of those people you mentioned are. First guess is blended family. Second would be that you are WAY too invested in a soap opera!

    I will try to make my way back to comment again to help protect your fragile blogger ego so I totally understand that need!
    .-= Beth´s last blog ..Yummy! =-.

  7. I don’t use a reader so I can’t say whether it worked or not but I try to check in here regularly since you’re so awesome.

    Hannah is learning how to deal with stuff, because you are teaching her how to do so. That’s some Mom magic right there!

    As for Sam’s Dad, well he doesn’t deserve the title, or the respect from Sam given his actions. Sam can forgo praying, in my mind, but I’m a cranky bitch.

    Have a great weekend!
    .-= Catootes´s last blog ..just a pinch =-.

  8. This came through my reader, but the other two posts did not. I do hope that you are having a good weekend and that you are able to walk and it’s not as cold! DAMN it’s been hotter than HAITI here!
    .-= Heather´s last blog ..i know i’ll rise tomorrow. =-.

  9. A reader, what’s that? ;). I gave up on that ages ago because it kept exploding and if I checked this time it would be worse than the Icelandic volcano.

    I haven’t been by in a long while, but I have to say, Kori, that your comment on my recent post about “guilt” really touched me. It meant a lot.

    I see that you are going through a tremendous amount right now, and handling it extremely well… if those little blue pills help you -good. Your kids are very lucky to have you for their Mom, esp. Hannah – I know that you’ll help her keep things on track with her baby and her life. Everything you’ve ever shared in this space makes me know that for certain.
    .-= Karen MEG´s last blog ..Double Digits =-.

  10. -I come visit almost daily, reader be damned.

    -Good to hear about Hannah. You know, she was raised by a pretty brilliant woman who taught her a thing or two. I hope her responsiblity is a sign of continued things to come.

    -Just like I told Ms. Moon, there is no shame in the little blue pills. There is shame in being stupid though, so I’m glad you’re smart enough to figure out you needed something:)

    -You’re similar to me in that I hate going to social things like a play but once I get there I usually enjoy myself. Glad that you went and had fun!

    -As I’ve said before to you, keep on keepin’ on.

    see ya!
    .-= Jill´s last blog ..Focus on what you have 4/17/10 =-.

  11. Gotta love when there’s weird people doing stupid things for no good reason. *sigh* I hate people. 🙂

    And yay for action. I’m absolutely with you in realizing how much of a difference it makes having just taken the first step or deciding to do something. It’s all dominioes from there.
    .-= Michelle´s last blog ..I Made An Exception =-.

  12. I didn’t even know that blogs get hacked. I’m sorry, that stinks.

    Lot of stuff going on. I’m sorry about Sam’s issues with his dad. As someone with a non-existing relationship with her father I can really identify with the pain, disappointment, and anger.
    .-= Unknown Mami´s last blog ..Sundays In My City =-.

  13. Hi Kori – Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving your sweet words. Glad I happened by here today to add my reassurance to the others that you are being read and appreciated.

    So glad to hear that Hannah is staying focused on finishing her education while that baby is growing and taking focus.

    Hang in there Mama’s! x0 N2

  14. So email is too impersonal but having your WIFE email adds just that right mix of “boy, isn’t this awkward” and “hey, isn’t this fun!” Dickwad.
    .-= Dingo´s last blog ..Like A Rock =-.

  15. Huh, I was wondering why, when I checked my blog with the approximately 2 minutes I have had to spare in the last few weeks, that your posts were REALLY sporadic…Guess they weren’t! I am trying to make time to check on my couple of most beloved bloggers, so hopefully you will see me around a bit more again. But no promises. But it surely does not mean I do not still love you :0) NOR does it mean that you suck. Because you surely do NOT suck. At all :0) Something just has to give, and lately it has been the blog world. (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

