Friday Fragments 05/21/10

Mommy's Idea

It’s absolutely Friday, finally, and I can’t think of a better way to end the week than taking part in Mrs.4444’s Fabulous Friday Fragments.  This is the chance to empty the mind of all those fleeting thoughts and snippets of information into one post-a little bit like grinding leftovers into hash, actually, only without the slightly moldy taste (one would hope).

***I am coming down with yet another cold, but this time it coincides nicely with what is forecast to be the worst weekend of the year, weather-wise.  I plan on going to the library tomorrow and stocking up on cheap romance novels (not really) and tea and nurturing myself on the couch.  Cold or not, I can’t think of a better way to spend a rainy/snowy weekend.

***However, it is Owen’s birthday tomorrow, and it was Sam’s on Wednesday, so I might have to get up for a little while.  They don’t know it yet but we are planning on taking them to see Shrek 4  as part of their birthday celebration.  I thought the first movie was funny as hell, but after the second one, well, one I would rather go see even a Nicholas Sparks movie than watch another sequel.  However, both boys are dying to see it, so there you go.

***Anyone else been watching the Jeopardy Tournament of Champions?  Tonight is the last night, and I am pretty excited about it.  We watch nearly every night, so we have already seen all of the contestants at different times during the year, so it has been excellent to see them come back and kick some ass.  I love the guy who is currently in the lead, Vijay, because he is SO smart, obviously, but also because he has tried out for Jeopardy over and over again and finally got in.  I took the online test and it was so hard, I think I only got maybe a third of the questions correct.  However, at this point any of the three contestants DESERVE to win.

***And oh my god, am I a total nerd or WHAT?  Did I really just write a paragraph about a television show on my BLOG?  And admit that I really want to be on Jeopardy! someday?  Yikes.

***A couple of people have asked, and I thought I posted about it one time but in case I didn’t, Hannah is having a little girl.  I believe that Ms.Moon is planning a virtual baby shower for some time in August, and Hannah will be registered at Target.  We also have a Wal-Mart here, in case any of you are die-hard Wal-Mart shoppers (notice I hate them so much I won’t even link to them?).  I thank in advance those of you who have asked; you simply have no idea how much it means to us.

***I have been taking on online class this week for work, the last class I need to take/test I need to pass in order to get my CISR designation.  I have to say it is a lot more boring to take a class online than it is to go to one, so it has been kind of a struggle for me.  When I am DOING my job, it isn’t boring at all, but some of the classes really are.  Still, I will be pretty excited to get this designation; it is visible proof of the work I have done to get to where I am, and that can only be a good thing.

***Sam’s dad didn’t even deign to email Sam on his birthday.  Anyone surprised?

I am pretty sure that I have emptied my brain of enough to make it through another week, so now I will send you over to see Mrs.4444 to partake of the offerings of her other participants.  Have a good weekend, everyone!

16 thoughts on “Friday Fragments 05/21/10

  1. LOL, I just mentioned in a post yesterday that I needed to be on Jeopardy. Also that I love the Big Bang Theory. So you see, even if you are a nerd, you are not alone :))

    Happy weekend! xo

  2. uuh, this is a good post.

    yeah for a weekend of reading even if you’re kind of sick.

    yuck for online classes. School is fun and makes you think but it’s boring as hell most of the time (can you tell I have class tonight?).

    yes you are a total nerd for watching Jeopardy but I understand.

    I am SO excited for the virtual shower. Please please please let me be invited!:)
    .-= Jill´s last blog ..Struggling =-.

  3. Pingback: Vijay Balse heads to ‘Jeopardy!’ championship with $3,400 lead | Madison-Chatham InJersey

  4. We watch Jeopardy as a family every night. It’s one of my favorite traditions.

    Sounds like you have a good weekend planned. I love the first Shrek too, but stopped watching after 2.

    Hope you can stay healthy, but if not get some rest!

    Keep us updated on the shower, and good luck with your test for the CISR! I got my AIC and AIS, and I remember how nerve-racking getting through all that testing was.
    .-= Cat´s last blog ..Friday Fragments! =-.

  5. I LOVE Jeopardy! We use to watch it every night, without fail…until we had kids. It dwindled to a few times a week once the twins were born; once Peanut came around, NEVER. (sigh). Trying to watch ANY television with the kids around is just pointless.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  6. The worst weather weekend of the year? I hope you live somewhere far, far away from me because our worst weather weekend so far involved something like 3 feet of snow! Hate to think what we’d get to be worse than that.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting…hope you feel better soon.
    .-= Ace´s last blog ..Harder Than You’d Think =-.

  7. I love Jeopardy even though it does make me feel dumb sometimes. I am so sorry I am so late for FF but I really do have a really good excuse. Am I crazy I love shrek; my husband and I watched 3 the other night. We usually wait til one of the grand kids are here to do such things but no one was available so we watched by ourselves. Hope one of them will go to the movies with us to see the new one! Have a great weekend and a good week and I hope you will stop over to say hi!

  8. I cannot believe that you wrote about a TV show on your blog!!! Oh the sacrilege! Will Hannah’s registry be under her last name? because I forgot what it is, so you’ll need to tell those of us who would like to send gifts. 🙂

    Good luck with the CISR. I know how frustrating those certification classes and exams are.

    love you!

Leave a Reply

