Did I mention before that I think January is my least favorite month? Really, the only good thing about it is…I have no fucking clue. At least today is the last day I have to suffer through it, and surely things will be better tomorrow. Maybe nothing will be different, but at least it will be February. I feel very Eeyore-ish today.

I hate waiting. Right now, I am waiting to hear how Owen’s bloodwork came out. BLOODWORK. That itself is a terrifying word, is it not? He has these lumps on his cheeks that are swollen lymph nodes, hard and painful to the touch and on the one side have caused him to be swollen celar up to his eye.  The nodes on his neck are also swollen, but he appears to be fine. Tired, yes-he has black circles under his eyes, and he hasn’t been eating well this weekend, but you know, no fever, no real complaints other than that his ear hurts. Still, Steve took him in to see J. this morning and she sent them over to the hospital for bloodwork because his ears, nose and throat all look great.  I am almost sure he is fine, just has some sort of infection that will be fixed with antibiotics (and she did send them home with a prescription to start him on), but of course it is a worry. Also slightly worrisome is that just to be on the safe side, they wouldn’t give him his boosters today. There is that little, nagging worry, because I know well how blessed I have been in my kids all being relatively healthy and I fear at times that I have been too blessed. I am mostly staying away from Dr. Google, though, because I really do think he is ok. I hope.

Aubry is already four and a half months old. Hard to believe that so much time has gone by already! She has only laughed out loud once, last weekend, so we have all spent considerable time and energy trying to get her to do it again, to no avail. I wonder sometimes if Hannah is aware of how lucky she is, though. Aubry is generally quite a cheerful little creature, rarely fusses and wakes up happy. She is getting a personality now, which is a lot of fun. However, Hannah is doing an excellent job mothering her so I don’t get to hang with her a lot. Which is good, of course, and what I had hoped would be the case, but still.

There are other things going on, but this is pretty much all I have the energy for. Hopefully I will get out of this slump I am in soon. Until then, send up happy thoughts.

6 thoughts on “

  1. I hope Owen feels better soon!
    I bet Aubry is a doll. I can’t believe it has already been 4-1/2 months. Geesh time flys.

Leave a Reply

