Quick Update Is All I can Manage

Funny thing about this is that I really don’t know what to say anymore here on the blog. I have had so many transitions happening in my life that I can’t pick just one to focus on (though to the person whose comment I didn’t publish? The one where you called me dumber than a box of rocks? Forgive me for ‘exxagerating’ by 8%; the money being garnished from my checks is taken out pre-tax, and of course I am taxed on that original amount as well. I think I figured it is actually closer to 42% than 50 % being taken out every month. Thanks for pointing that out), and I feel almost like I don’t belong here anymore. Isn’t that odd? This is, after all, my little space, this place I have called home for some three-ish years, but it isn’t comfortable for me any longer. I am no longer in that bitter, angry single mom phase, yet neither am I in the settled-and-married phase. The “with children” but, well, of course, I always have and always will be one of those, but god knows my children aren’t always blogworthy material, right? So I am not sure where that leaves me, or what direction I need to be going in. Something to think about.

In the meantime, I can tell you that the wedding went off without a hitch, and it was better than I dared even hope (Come on-I had a couple of naysayers who had me convinced that Steve is a money hungry asshole who was going to take me for everything I had and then leave me high and dry, so I was just glad he was actually standing at the altar waiting for me!). There was a full church and good food and lots and lots of love from all sides. I had to blink back tears more than once, and in fact cried my way down the aisle, and it was perfect. We then left on our honeymoon, and it was equally lovely. In fact, I have a whole post forming in my head about just that!

And now it’s back to the task of living our lives, and so many things are going on right now. Already June is halfway filled up with various things, and before you know it we will be having this baby and Owen will be starting kindergarten and Eli will be a senior and….everything is changing. Which is the nature of living, I know, but also? Something I struggle with, change.

So this blog will change, and I am not sure how yet, but it is inevitable, just like every other change in life.  And change is something I do struggle with, but I am not going away, just trying to figure out how this is all going to look.

11 thoughts on “Quick Update Is All I can Manage

  1. Congrats on the wedding. I agree with you about blogging and finding that space. Hugs & Congrats

    I can’t wait to hear all about the wedding.

  2. Hey Kori!

    Life is just too doggone busy, and stressful, when I don’t have (or is it MAKE) time for my friends! I have missed you, your raw honesty, your humor, your stories, etc. and have thought of you often. Sorry each thought did not correspond with a visit! The thoughts some times come in traffic, tanning beds, bathrooms, and other inconvenient locations for blogging. 🙂 I’m so glad to hear that the wedding went well and that baby is still perking along! 🙂

    Love ya!
    Beth

  3. Congrats on the wedding! You both deserve to be happy, and I wish for you all many, long years of love and bliss.

    I understand about how you feel about your blog too. I shut my first one down and opened a new site. It feels so much more comfortable, more like me.

  4. Any post that you put together is welcome – it’s ALWAYS nice to hear from you. And of course your blog will change just like your life has changed. Every last thing in this dang world seems to change.

    Glad to hear the little snippet about the wedding. Here’s hoping you can now just have a boring, settled in life (ok, not too boring) that you’ll still continue to blog about.

  5. First off, congratulations on your wedding. I’m sure it was lovely!

    This post made me smile because it’s just so… bright. I feel like your future right now is so beautiful and bright, and it’s kind of nice. I hope you stick around so we can see glimpses of it from time to time.

  6. I’m sorry there is someone out there so determined to pester you. If they really think that there is any difference worth noting between losing 40% and 50% of your income, they are completely disconnected from reality and have no business opening their mouths. What’s the proverb? “A fool speaks all his mind” or something like that. In other words, by constantly spouting everything that pops into their heads they show how little is in there. Ugh.

    I’m so glad the wedding and honeymoon were good. If you have to quit blogging for a while to maintain your happiness, then by all means do it. But I would definitely miss you.

  7. Just read your last (excellent) post as well, Kori. Life is often messy, but sounds like you’re moving forward in happy ways. Congrats on your wedding, and I’m so glad that your pregnancy is going well…

Leave a Reply

