Summer Can Now Commence

Sam has continued on with our annual “tradition” of ushering summer in with some kind of injury (and I will add that it usually IS Sam!). This time, he wrecked on his bike and ended up getting three stitches in his…scrotum. Poor kid, he hit the handlebars just right and ripped a hole in it, just under his right testicle. He was very brave, all things considered, and it was all very much the Man’s Club there at the ER. Steve and  the doctor and Sam and Owen, all huddled together discussing the injury with great gravity (well, not Owen-he just wanted to know what was going on). I felt very superfluous, to be honest, and actually have had to deal with a few hurt feelings over the whole incident.

How to explain this without sounding whiny? Maybe there is no way. So let me say right up front here that I was glad Steve came to the ER, glad that Sam feels so comfortable with him that they could sit there and commiserate with one another (and let me ask this: does EVERY man have some kind of testicle injury about which to brag?) about his manly parts. Am more than grateful that the two of them are really finally getting along; all of that is so, so true. Yet also true is the fact that for 12 years, Sam has been mine. For good or ill, I haven’t had to share him with anyone, his biological father being the person he is. And that has been a mixed blessing, of course, like most blessings are. So it’s a little bit disconcerting to be summarily dismissed from something that up until this week would have been what I thought was MY rightful place.

No matter. All is well, and as my friend Janet told me at lunch today, no parent is immune to those feelings. She and her husband have been married for 30 ish years and have one son, and she admitted to feeling jealous at times when the two of them talk for hours about whatever it is they talk about. That made me feel better, less insane, because Janet is one of the most together people I know and if SHE feels like that sometimes, then it must be ok. Not ideal, of course, but ok. Better to know the dem

So. Sam is home nursing a very sore nut sac, and he has somehow wheedled Steve into letting him keep this kitten we were “blessed” with, and I just feel pretty happy, hurt feelings aside. I don’t pretend to think that everything is going to be easy all the time, that they will get along perfectly and Steve will fill the hole left by Sam’s dad. But I am also smart enough to be grateful that in this case, he could give Sam something I couldn’t, and I am glad.

9 thoughts on “Summer Can Now Commence

  1. Owwww… poor guy. Good to hear he’s going to be okay.

    I feel a little (read: a lot) of jealousy when my husband and daughter go on about soccer. They both play and I never did. It’s something that I can watch and cheer on, but it’s wholly their thing. I can totally understand how you feel.

  2. OUCH! OUCH OUCH!

    I’ve been married 31 years too and have had those feelings more often than I care to recall! I think it’s human to want to be the one to provide everything our kids could possibly need or want. Of course we can’t be that forever and it’s probably good that we learn that lesson in small doses!

    It’s good to hear you happy!

  3. No, you’re not insane to feel that way – I can totally understand why you feel a little jealousy. I think it’s normal as long as it isn’t to an unhealthy level which you are not even slightly close to.

    I think this scrotum injury may have been providence. I mean hey, what other area of a 12 year old boy could be injured that would require a little bonding with his stepdad? Go with it – any fathering Sam can get from Steve is wonderful.

    Loved your way of telling this event – greatly amusing to say the least.

  4. OWWWW. Poor kid. I’m starting to get those pangs with Jase and Boy. Boy is still a total Mama’s boy, but when it comes to motorcycles, laughing at farts, and general male silliness, I can’t compete.

  5. HOLY CRAP! I can’t imagine that pain, because I don’t have those parts, but holy crap I bet it hurt! I hope Sam is on the mend and feeling better every day.

    I think it would be completely normal to feel those feelings. I can’t relate on the kid side, since we have none, but I do often get jealous of a friend’s new friend and it’s only because I selfishly want her all to myself and feel since I helped her through a rough spot that I should be enough for her too. Jealousy is something I often struggle with, can you tell?

  6. Ouch! That sounds very painful.

    I think it’s key to recognise feelings like yours of jealousy. You’re only human after all. I’m realising more and more, as you say, that we all have those feelings. It’s how we try to deal with them or repair after we mess up that matters.

  7. I’m so sorry for Sam. 😦 I wouldn’t wish that on anyone! Just imagine the stories he’ll be able to tell as a teenager though lol. He’ll probably have his own little cult following of kids fascinated by freak accidents.

    The jealousy is normal, I’m sure; and like the smart person you are, you also recognize that it can’t be allowed to take over. Don’t sweat it. All these things are the parts of life that actually add up to living.

  8. Youch – that musta hurt but so glad that the boy had other guys to sympathize with – you know, that’s a really good thing, jealousy (understandably) notwithstanding.

    So Whoaaaaa lady, I step away from the blog world for a few months and wow, look at all that’s happened in your life. Congrats on your marriage, congrats on the baby, and it looks like your life is in a much better place now!! I’m very happy for you Kori.

  9. Hey Kori,

    Not sure if you remember me but I used to write a blog that you seemed to enjoy. Due to how busy my schedule is, I’m unable to keep the blog going. However I have (finally) signed up for Twitter so you can find small slices of Sully wisdom from time to time on there. My tag is @ThatSullyGuy

    -Sully

Leave a Reply

