For some reason…

For some reason it suddenly occurred that Thanksgiving is tomorrow and I haven’t gotten a single thing with which to make our dishes for dinner. Steve was busily injecting the turkey he is smoking (and I have never seen anyone pull the skin away from a turkey and stuff fresh herbs in between the skin and the meat, but he did, and I think that is pretty cool. Also a little strange, in that he is a man, but ultimately a useful skill), he and Owen mixing up the flan, and even in the midst of all the chaos I didn’t think about the things I am making. So now, I have to brave the Thanksgiving shoppers with Owen, Sam and Josie in tow; it should be an adventure, to say the least.

I am excited this year. We are headed to Thanksgiving with my mom and all but one of my sisters and their families. My grandma will be there, as will my dad, neither of whom have met Josie. I don’t think my dad has even seen Aubry, come to think of it. I have to say this about my parents; they have been divorced for about 190 years or so, and have always done a pretty good job of doing things with all of us without it being a conflict. As far as I know, they don’t really care for each other and wouldn’t call one another friends, but they are both willing and capable of being in the same room together and even talking in order to support us girls. With as toxic as our home environment was (post divorce-from-dad), they did do this right. For the first time in a long time, I am actually looking forward to getting together with my family for a holiday, and think it is going to be a really good time.

Tomorrow also heralds my 12th birthday in sobriety, which is a miracle to me. Do you know, most days I still feel like one day sober is a miracle, so the fact that I have managed to cobble together a whole string of days to equal twelve years is a staggering concept. Back in the day I couldn’t go twelve hours. I have much to be grateful for this year, no doubt.

So best wishes to all of you this Thanksgiving: I hope you are all safe and have someone you love around you, and that you get to eat lots of good food and have good company. Life is sweet, and it will be a good day.

Leave a Reply

