Finally, Friday Fragments!

Mommy's Idea ***We have been working toward eating healthier here at our house. To this end, I have been concocting smoothies every morning with a variety of different fruits and, yes, vegetables. The kids don’t even notice and I swear I can tell a difference in how I feel.

***Eli is home from juvie, safe and sound (ish). His job is dependent upon the weather so he has been lucky in that the whole time he was in, there was rain and snow. Therefore, he still has his job. He still has a lot of decisions to make in the next short while, and he does still have sentencing for the racing ticket looming in front of him, but still having a job is one not-so-small good thing. He keeps telling me there IS no God, but I not-so-secretly think that God has a hand in all of this.

***Speaking of God having a hand in things, I am feeling marginally better about the lack of communication with Hannah. Because God loves me, I have to remember that He loves Hannah just as much. Also, He can do a lot better job of taking care of her than I ever could, therefore I think I will let Him. Keeping this in mind is harder than it sounds, though, because I really sometimes just want to jump in and take over. Because, you know, I have been SO successful about managing my own life on my own.

***There have been so many things going on that I am powerless over that really, all I can do is take care of myself. I have spent a lot of time in quiet (ish) reflection and in eating good food (food as fuel, right?), praying and working out and walking. I don’t know why it does, but it helps. There is a huge connection between mind and body, isn’t there?

***And speaking of working out, I was really rocking the workout yesterday, like sweating and huffing and puffing.  I was in my pajamas because I don’t have any workout clothes, and when I was done I went to let the dogs out and the property managers were outside. I was embarrassed because it was ten and I was still in my jammies, so I was explaining that I was working out, blah blah. They said,”Oh,we know, we have been watching you for the last twenty minutes!” It would be a little creepy if I didn’t know these people, but instead it was just funny.

***There is this hill where we like to walk, and yesterday I made myself walk up and down this hill three times. It is a little steep, but mostly I am just terribly out of shape. I kept thinking of The Biggest Loser people though, and thought if they can do some of the things they do, I can walk up this wretched hill. I would have felt more accomplished if Sam hadn’t RUN up the hill a couple of times and then said,”look mom, I RAN up the hill and I have asthma.” Thanks, kid.

***The weather is finally starting to warm up and feel slightly springish. This makes my whole outlook change, and I am really glad to be able to get out of the house a little more often!

Thanks to Mrs. 4444 for her Friday Fragments; I am sure there are a ton of more interesting fragments out there, so head over and find them!

8 thoughts on “Finally, Friday Fragments!

  1. I’ve been having fruit smoothies every morning do. Eating healthier makes all the difference in how you feel, I have found too.

    Don’t feel bad, I am STILL in my pj’s and it’s after 11:00! And my boys? Are still sleeping because it’s a teacher workday here.

    I need to get busy working out, cleaning the house, doing laundry….*sigh*

    Stopped by from Friday Fragments. Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

  2. You don’t know me. This is the first time I have visited your blog, and I clicked over from Friday Fragments. I just had to comment and tell you to hang in there. You have lots on your plate, but you also have strength and courage. I can tell that from your writing. I am praying for you and your family.

  3. I don’t know – – – I think I’d still feel a bit creeped out, even if I DID know the manager and like him.

    Of course – – – there’s always that part about how I NEVER work out, so it would be pretty weird if some one watched me do that which I do not.

  4. haha, Keetha! I was thinking the same thing; I know nothing of this mind-body shit. Good on you, Kori! No one ever regrets working care of themselves. I’m happy for you.

    Thanks for linking up!

  5. Well it was a nice surprise to see that you stopped by my blog, and it was great getting caught up with your life again. Hope everything continues to go well, and I certainly think there is indeed a mind-body connection. Take care, and I look forward to more and more sunshine.

  6. We’ve been having the “Daddy Smoothie Cafe” open for the past few days, although I’ve yet to have him add veggies. I should though. It’s amazing how much what we put into our bodies makes a difference in how we feel. Keep at it!

Leave a Reply

