It’s only Saturday but I can already say it has been a good weekend. We had Steve’s parents over for dinner tonight, which we have never done. Oh, they have been here for birthday parties and such, but never just for dinner with us-it was really nice. His mom and I were in the kitchen washing the dishes after dinner, talking away, and I was struck by how much things have changed in the years since I first met her. I can say with certainty that a lot of the changes have come about since Steve and I got married; because of their religious beliefs, it almost didn’t count until we actually had the ceremony, and while I can still get all butt hurt about the lack of support I got prior to the wedding, it was what it was.

However, it is much more than that. So much of it has to do with the fact that I have changed in the past years. We all know I have problems-MAJOR problems-getting close to people or allowing them to get close to me, and the simple fact that I have been making a conscious effort with her has probably made the most difference. I think back to different times in the past where I felt like they were not being very helpful or supportive, and at times that burden is theirs to carry. Other times, though, I realize that help would have been there had I simply asked. Wow. Novel idea, and one this recovering alcoholic should know by now! I think we are finally getting to the point where we are friends. She had a small emergency of a personal nature a couple of weeks ago, and felt like she could call me for help; it might seem silly, but it meant the world to me. Tonight, I was able to be honest with her about something personal I have been struggling with, and she totally GOT it. This is huge, and something to be grateful for.

It wasn’t just their visit for dinner that was good, though. Last night I got to talk to someone I haven’t spoken to for any length of time in months. I was thinking about her and instead of just thinking about her, I called her; such a small thing, but not. It was so great to touch bases with someone I love, and know that even though months have gone by, we are still friends. No bullshit, no drama, just like we spoke yesterday.

We worked like mad around the house today, not because we were having company but because it was time. Steve had today AND has tomorrow off, so we did all these projects that we have been putting off. Including the first lawn mowing of the season, and finally getting the downstairs bathroom shower working again. This is heaven-I have gotten used to not sharing a bathroom with the boys, so to have the adult bathroom back again is going to be great. It felt like we got a lot accomplished, and I love that feeling.

And now I am up working, with everyone else all nestled into bed. I prefer getting up early, but it was so nice to sleep in with Steve this morning! We have more projects tomorrow-tilling the garden spot and getting my raspberries planted, and whatever else might come up. It’s a good day, and I feel happy.

One thought on “

  1. I think I get what you’re talking about with your mother-in-law. I have had similar experiences with my stepmom and stepdad. My parents divorced when I was 19 and both ended up remarrying when I was in my twenties. My stepdad came first and I hated him. Then came my stepmom and I hated her For both situations it was all about me being a selfish brat. I finally had a realization in my late twenties that I needed to grow up. I took the steps right there and haven’t looked back. I know you didn’t have total control over the situation with your in-laws but I am so glad to hear that things have improved – that all of the things that needed to happen did happen.

Leave a Reply

