So….

I had forgotten how much I hate (and suck at) coming up with titles. It’s like the absolute worst thing to ever have to do. Which has nothing to do with this post, just a little thought flitting through my head.

One of the things I did want to write about tonight, though, is that fact that I have four cigarettes left and am putting on a nicotine patch tonight. And I am nervous and afraid and yes, panicked. Because you know, smoking is an addiction and it’s so terrible and all that, which is true but ALSO because man, it’s my crutch. Bored? Smoke. Tired of waiting? Go have a smoke. Annoyed at the kids/spouse/dogs/mailman? Have a smoke. It’s like that six minutes of absolute heaven, where everything just sort of melts away. Really. If you have never smoked, you don’t get that, but it’s there for every smoker I know.

At any rate, my mom died unexpectedly and suddenly last August. Which is a whole other freaking SERIES of posts, but I am not ready for that yet. The only reason I bring it up now is that you know, she was 65, and that is really young, and I don’t want to die. There were lots of other issues with her, but she smoked 3 packs of smokes a day, y’all. Let’s just say it didn’t help.

At any rate, I have been working my way toward this point for the past year and two months. As in, I have been preparing myself to be ready to be finished smoking. And it sucks, yes, that it has taken this long, but it is what it is. So for the last two months I have been ACTIVELY getting ready to be done, things like substituting nicotine gum for cigarettes occasionally, visiting a smoking cessation website, consciously choosing to not light one. Little things, but they have finally brought me here.

It might seem like such a small thing, but really, if it does, you have never smoked. That’s all I can say. But, I don’t know, it’s just time. And it’s also no small thing, for me. And in all my life, writing things down is a way to make things real, plus it opens up a feeling of accountability. Not that anyone ELSE holds me accountable, it’s just that being open and honest about it helps ME be accountable.

So. Here’s to the last four smokes.

3 thoughts on “So….

  1. Hello there. Good to see you again and best of luck with quitting smoking. It’s tough but best of luck to you. I chewed tobacco for over 10 years and it took me multiple times to get it done. Now I’m tobacco free for 12 years. You can do it. =)

Leave a Reply

